University Bylaws is responsible for maintaining the university bylaws and the Faculty Senate Bylaws. It also reviews bylaws of divisions and makes recommendations.

6.16 The University Bylaws Committee shall have the responsibility of maintaining the university bylaws (formally Title 5, Chapter 6 in the Board of Regents Handbook) and see to their timely and accurate posting on the faculty senate website.

  • 6.16.1 The Committee shall conduct periodic reviews of the UNLV Bylaws to ensure compliance with the Board of Regents Handbook and Regent policies.
  • 6.16.2 The Committee shall make changes to the UNLV Bylaws that are properly approved by the majority of the voting faculty.
  • 6.16.3 As requested, the Committee shall advise the Faculty Senate Chairperson and the Executive Committee on interpretation of the UNLV and Faculty Senate Bylaws.
  • 6.16.4 The Committee shall review UNLV and its division’s bylaws, and recommend revisions whenever desirable. It shall also serve to interpret UNLV and its division’s bylaws, and recommend such interpretations to the Faculty Senate. (3/10)

University Bylaws is an active committee making recommendations that keep the bylaws of the University and the Faculty Senate up to date with current activities and trends. Members serve two-year terms.

Members

Chair

Bill Robinson
william.robinson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Administrative

Peter Navarro
peter.navarro@unlv.edu
Term ends July 1, 2025

At-Large

Bill Robinson
william.robinson@unlv.edu
Term ends July 1, 2024

At-Large

Fiona Britton
fiona.britton@unlv.edu
Term ends July 1, 2024

At-Large

Bill Leavitt
william.leavitt@unlv.edu
Term ends July 1, 2024

At-Large

Vacant

School of Business

Nicholas Irwin
nicholas.irwin@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

College of Education

Travis Olson
travis.olson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

College of Engineering

Neil Opfer
neil.opfer@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Fine Arts

John McMurtery
john.mcmurtery@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Division of Health Sciences

Cheryl Maes
cheryl.maes@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

College of Hospitality

Ozgur Ozdemir
ozgur.ozdemir@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Law

Vacant

College of Liberal Arts

Tim Gauthier
tim.gauthier@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

University Libraries

Jason Vaughan
jason.vaughan@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2025

College of Sciences

Paul Forster
paul.forster@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

College of Urban Affairs

Tara McManus
tara.mcmanus@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

General Counsel

Elda Sidhu
elda.sidhu@unlv.edu
Ex-Officio

Provost Rep

Janet Dufek
janet.dufek@unlv.edu
Ex-Officio