6.7.1 The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee will be charged with advising and providing input on Senate activities regarding:

6.7.1.1 Faculty and staff diversity, hiring, and retention;

6.7.1.2 Senate organizational structure and policies that inhibit Senate diversity;

6.7.1.3 Senate bias, equity, inclusion and social justice professional development

6.7.2 Liaise with and advise the units including, but not limited to the Office of Faculty Affairs, the Administrative Faculty Committee, the Chief Diversity Officer and the Office of Diversity Initiatives, Human Resources, to gather data and report annually on the state of faculty and staff including but not limited to the following:

  • 6.7.2.1 The current racial/ethnic composition of the faculty,
  • 6.7.2.2 Efforts to support and retain current faculty of color
  • 6.7.2.3 Efforts to hire more diverse faculty 
  • 6.7.2.4 Tenure and promotion data
  • 6.7.3 Liaise with and advise the Office of Diversity Initiatives on faculty facing diversity initiatives
  • 6.7.4 Liaise with and advise Associate VP for Student Life on student facing diversity initiatives annually

Members

Chair

Suzanne Becker
suzanne.becker@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Academic Success Center

Sheetal Survase
sheetal.survase@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Business

Kimberly Nehls
kimberly.nehls@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Dental Medicine

Karl Kingsley
karl.kingsley@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Education

Doris Watson – (Secretary)
doris.watson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Engineering

Haroon Stephen
haroon.stephen@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

College of Fine Arts

Monica Williams
monica.williams@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Graduate College

Vacant

Division of Health Sciences

Nirmala Lekhak
nirmala.lekhak@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Honors College

Joanna Kepka
joanna.kepka@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Hospitality

Rhonda Montgomery
rhonda.montgomery@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Law

Frank Rudy Cooper
frankrudy.cooper@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Liberal Arts

Vacant

University Libraries

Amber Sewell
amber.sewell@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Sciences

Jake Blanton
jake.blanton@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Urban Affairs

Emma Bloomfield
emma.bloomfield@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Chief Diversity Officer (ex-officio)

Vacant

President’s Advisory Council

Vacant