The Promotion and Tenure Committee evaluates applications for promotion and/or tenure after they have moved through proper faculty and administrative channels from department or school to college to the provost. It also works to ensure comparable rigor of criteria and procedures across units. The Faculty Senate bylaws detail the responsibilities:

6.15 The Tenure and Promotion Committee shall perform the following functions :

  • 6.15.1 Consult with the Executive Vice President and Provost to ensure comparable rigor of criteria and procedures in promotion and tenure recommendations across units. The recommendation for promotion or tenure shall move through proper faculty and administrative channels from department or school to college to the Executive Vice President and Provost, prior to being presented to the committee. Faculty members not recommended for promotion or tenure may proceed by way of the Grievance Committee.

This committee works vigorously and conscientiously to determine the eligibility of applicants to join the ranks of tenured faculty of the university and the appropriateness of promotion. Members serve two-year terms and, because of the compressed schedule of the committee and the importance of their process, each college/unit shall also elect an alternate.

Links

Members

Chair

Christina Demopoulos
christina.demopoulos@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Vice Chair

Bill Robinson
william.robinson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Business

Marcus Rothenberger
marcus.rothenberger@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Vacant

School of Dental Medicine

Fiona Britton
fiona.britton@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Karl Kingsley
karl.kingsley@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

College of Education

Christine Clark
chris.clark@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Alternate
Shannon Smith
Term expires July 1, 2024
College of Engineering

Jaci Batista
jaci.batista@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Emma Regentova
emma.regentova@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

College of Fine Arts

Cathy Allen
cathy.allen@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Louisa McDonald
louisa.mcdonald@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Hospitality

Carola Raab
carola.raab@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Yen Soon Kim
yen-soon.kim@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Integrated Health Sciences

Jing Nong Liang
jingnong.liang@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Alternate
Kara Radzak
kara.radzak@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

School of Law
Jeff Stempel
Term expires July 1, 2024
 
Alternate
Jean Sternlight
Term expires July 1, 2024
College of Liberal Arts

Jennifer Rennels
jennifer.rennels@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Paul Schollmeier
Term expires July 1, 2024
University Libraries

Darcy Del Bosque
darcy.delbosque@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Susie Skari
susie.skari@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Medicine

Vacant

Alternate
Vacant

School of Nursing

Jennifer Kawi
jennifer.kawi@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Alternate
Du Feng
du.feng@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

School of Public Health

Maxim Gakh
maxim.gakh@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Alternate
Soumya Upadhyay
soumya.upadhyay@unlv.edu
Term expires, July 1, 2024

Colleges of Sciences

Amei Amei
amei.amei@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Alternate
Pengtao Sun
pengtao.sun@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Urban Affairs

William Sousa
william.sousa@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024

Alternate
Lawrence Mullen
lawrence.mullen@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2024