University Tenure & Promotion Committee

The Promotion and Tenure Committee evaluates applications for promotion and/or tenure after they have moved through proper faculty and administrative channels from department or school to college to the provost. It also works to ensure comparable rigor of criteria and procedures across units. The Faculty Senate bylaws detail the responsibilities:

6.15 The Tenure and Promotion Committee shall perform the following functions :

  • 6.15.1 Consult with the Executive Vice President and Provost to ensure comparable rigor of criteria and procedures in promotion and tenure recommendations across units. The recommendation for promotion or tenure shall move through proper faculty and administrative channels from department or school to college to the Executive Vice President and Provost, prior to being presented to the committee. Faculty members not recommended for promotion or tenure may proceed by way of the Grievance Committee.

This committee works vigorously and conscientiously to determine the eligibility of applicants to join the ranks of tenured faculty of the university and the appropriateness of promotion. Members serve two-year terms and, because of the compressed schedule of the committee and the importance of their process, each college/unit shall also elect an alternate.

Links

Members

Chair

Francine Lipman
francine.lipman@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Vice Chair

Rhonda Montgomery
rhonda.montgomery@unlv.edu
Term expires June 1, 2023

School of Business

Marcus Rothenberger
marcus.rothenberger@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Anjala Krishen
anjala.krishen@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Dental Medicine

Fiona Britton
fiona.britton@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Vacant

College of Education

Daniel Wright
daniel.wright@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Alternate
Christine Clark
chris.clark@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

College of Engineering

Jaci Batista
jaci.batista@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Evangelos Yfantis
evangelos.yfantis@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Fine Arts

Cathy Allen
cathy.allen@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Louisa McDonald
louisa.mcdonald@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Hospitality

Corola Raab
corola.raab@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Yen Soon Kim
yen-soon.kim@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Integrated Health Sciences

Frank Cucinotta
francis.cucinotta@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2021

Alternate
Vacant

School of Law

Jeanne Price
jeanne.price@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Alternate
Ann Traum
anne.traum@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

College of Liberal Arts

William Jankowiak
william.jankowiak@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Alternate
Paul Schollmeier
paul.schollmeier@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

University Libraries

Darcy Del Bosque
darcy.delbosque@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Susie Skari
susie.skari@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Medicine

Vacant

Alternate
Vacant

School of Nursing

Rebecca Benfield
rebecca.benfield@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Alona Angosta
alona.angosta@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

School of Public Health

Manoj Sharma
manoj.sharma@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Timothy Bungum
tim.bungum@unlv.edu
Term expires, July 1, 2023

Colleges of Sciences

Monika Neda
monika.neda@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Alternate
Pengtai Sun
pengtai.sun@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Urban Affairs

William Sousa
william.sousa@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Alternate
Lee Bernick
lee.bernick@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022