Academic Standards Committee

The Academic Standards Committee reviews policy and recommends revisions in academic policy when necessary. Practically, it reviews applications for readmission for students on scholastic suspension as well as petitions for various waivers and exceptions. The Faculty Senate Bylaws codifies thusly:

6.2 The Academic Standards Committee shall periodically review policy, recommending revisions in current academic policy whenever desirable. It shall also be responsible for the following undergraduate areas.

  • 6.2.1 Reviewing applications for readmission for students on scholastic suspension.
  • 6.2.2 Reviewing applications for the removal of a semester of "F" grades incurred due to improper withdrawal.
  • 6.2.3 Reviewing petitions referred to the committee.
  • 6.2.4 Monitoring policy changes to ensure their implementation.
  • 6.2.5 In the event an academic matter (graduate or undergraduate) results (after the appropriate college academic standards committee has heard the matter) in the need for a hearing, the three student representatives from the Academic Standards Committee and three faculty members from the Academic Standards Committee will serve on a hearing panel. Recommendations will be forwarded to the Executive Committee of the Senate for distribution to the appropriate parties, which shall include the student and the faculty member.

This is a hard-working committee, meeting at least monthly, to consider petitions from students with academic issues.  Each college/unit elects one academic faculty member to serve a two-year term.

Members

Chair

Rhonda Montgomery
rhonda.montgomery@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Academic Success Center

Sal Mora
salvador.mora@unlv.edu
Term ends July 1, 2022

School of Business

Kirk Silvernail
kirk.silvernail@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Dental Medicine

Vacant

College of Education

Howard Gordon
howard.gordon@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Engineering

Melissa Morris
melissa.morris@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

College of Fine Arts

Bill Bernatis
bill.bernatis@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Division of Health Sciences

Steven Palazzo
steven.palazzo@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Hospitality

Laura Book
laura.book@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Law

Vacant

College of Liberal Arts

Cheryl Abbate
cheryl.abbate@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Sciences

Rohan Dalpatadu
rohan.dalpatadu@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Urban Affairs

Gary Larson
gary.larson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023