General Education Committee

General Education reviews policy regarding general education. It supports the University Undergraduate Learning Outcomes as an essential part of curriculum. It determines what classes may be designated Multicultural, International, or First and Second Year Seminars. Consistent with general education reform passed by the Faculty Senate in fall 2011, general education addresses new minimum course criteria by which distribution content area courses (Humanities and Fine Arts; Life and Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences) are evaluated. It rules on exceptions and waivers to the general education requirements, and, if necessary, grants modifications in the core requirements. As stated in the UNLV Faculty Senate Bylaws:

  • 6.7 The General Education Committee shall periodically review policy regarding general education, recommending revisions in current policy whenever desirable. It shall also be responsible for:
    • 6.7.1 Ruling on exceptions to the general education requirements and if necessary, granting modifications in the core requirements sufficient to restore previously existing graduation requirements in programs, departments or colleges.
    • 6.7.2 Reviewing content areas in the general education core, adding or deleting courses or content as necessary.
    • 6.7.3 Monitoring the general education program to ensure appropriate implementation.

The General Education Committee serves an important and essential responsibility in faculty’s participation in shared governance. Members serve two-year terms.

General Education Committee Meetings

Spring 2020 meeting dates and times will be announced soon.

Members

Chair

Jacob Thompson
jacob.thompson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

School of Business

Bill Robinson
bill.robinson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

College of Education

Shaoan Zhang
shaoan.zhang@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

College of Engineering

Bill Culbreth
william.culbreth@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2021

College of Fine Arts

Dolly Kelepecz
dolly.kelepecz@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2021

Division of Health Sciences

Patricia Gatlin
tricia.gaitlin@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

Honors College

Michael Chin
michael.chin@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2021

College of Hospitality

Cass Shum
cass.shum@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

College of Liberal Arts

Ed Nagelhout
ed.nagelhout@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2021

College of Urban Affairs

Natalie Pennington
natalierose.pennington@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2021

College of Sciences

Robert Ain
robert.ain@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2021

Undergraduate Student

Emily Thompson
thompe8@unlv.nevada.edu
Ex-Officio

Undergraduate Education

Laurel Prichard
laurel.pritchard@unlv.edu
Ex-Officio