General Education Committee

General Education reviews policy regarding general education. It supports the University Undergraduate Learning Outcomes as an essential part of curriculum. It determines what classes may be designated Multicultural, International, or First and Second Year Seminars. Consistent with general education reform passed by the Faculty Senate in fall 2011, general education addresses new minimum course criteria by which distribution content area courses (Humanities and Fine Arts; Life and Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences) are evaluated. It rules on exceptions and waivers to the general education requirements, and, if necessary, grants modifications in the core requirements. As stated in the UNLV Faculty Senate Bylaws:

  • 6.7 The General Education Committee shall periodically review policy regarding general education, recommending revisions in current policy whenever desirable. It shall also be responsible for:
    • 6.7.1 Ruling on exceptions to the general education requirements and if necessary, granting modifications in the core requirements sufficient to restore previously existing graduation requirements in programs, departments or colleges.
    • 6.7.2 Reviewing content areas in the general education core, adding or deleting courses or content as necessary.
    • 6.7.3 Monitoring the general education program to ensure appropriate implementation.

The General Education Committee serves an important and essential responsibility in faculty’s participation in shared governance. Members serve two-year terms.

General Education Committee Meetings

Date Location
Friday, November 9, 2018
11:00 am - 1:00 pm Room 4126 (4th Floor Conference Room)
Friday, November 30, 2018
11:00 am - 1:00 pm Room 5163 (Dean's Conference Room)
Friday, December 7, 2018
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm Room 4126 (4th Floor Conference Room)

Members

Chair

Jacob Thompson
jacob.thompson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2019

School of Business

Bill Robinson
bill.robinson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

College of Education

Shaoan Zhang
shaoan.zhang@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

College of Engineering

Haroon Stephen
haroon.stephen@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2019

College of Fine Arts

Anthony Barone
anthony.barone@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2019

Division of Health Sciences

Patricia Gaitlin
tricia.gaitlin@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

College of Hotel Administration

Cass Shum
cass.shum@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2020

School of Law

Vacant

College of Liberal Arts

Diane Villa
diane.villa@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2019

College of Sciences

Rohan Dalpatadu
rohan.dalpatadu@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2019

College of Urban Affairs

Karu Hangawatte
karu.hangawatte@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2019

Undergraduate Student

Lisa Stadtmiller
stadtmil@unlv.nevada.edu
Term expires July 1, 2019

General Education

Laurel Prichard
laurel.pritchard@unlv.edu
Ex-Officio