Curriculum Committee

Undergraduate Curriculum recommends approval or rejection of proposed undergraduate programs of study and proposed undergraduate courses of instruction. They are the watch dog for redundancy, course numbering, and credit distribution. Their duties are detailed in the Faculty Senate Bylaws:

6.6 The Curriculum Committee shall perform the following functions

  • 6.6.1 Recommend the approval or rejection of proposed undergraduate programs of study.
  • 6.6.2 Recommend the approval or rejection of proposed undergraduate courses of instruction.
  • 6.6.3 Resolve conflicts arising from such curriculum matters as duplication of content or excessive overlap, or matters of course jurisdiction by requiring all parties involved to participate in mediation or arbitration with the committee serving as the mediator and/or arbitrator.
  • 6.6.4 Monitor all proposed undergraduate curricular additions, revisions or deletions.
  • 6.6.5 Request changes in catalog information sheets having to do with clarity and precision when such changes will help to make the catalog entries more meaningful to prospective readers.
  • 6.6.6 Screen and review all new programs and make recommendations, regarding their priority, to the Executive Vice President and Provost, with copies to the President, after appropriate campus consultations.
    • 6.6.6.1 Criteria and procedures for new program review shall be established by the committee.

The Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee meets throughout the academic year to review curriculum. This committee reviews all changes, additions and deletions to existing curriculum. Members serve two-year terms.

Graduate

Graduate curriculum is approved by the Graduate College Course Review Committee

Members

Chair

Gail Sammons
gail.sammons@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Administrative

Rian Satterwhite
rian.satterwhite@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Business

Jack Schibrowsky
john.schibrowsky@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Education

Nathan Slife
nathan.slife@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Engineering

Pramen Shrestha
pramen.shrestha@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

College of Fine Arts

Richard Miller
richard.miller@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

Division of Health Sciences

Richard Tandy
richard.tandy@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Hospitality

Gail Sammons
gail.sammons@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

School of Law

Jeanne Price
jeanne.price@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

College of Liberal Arts

Erika Abad
erika.abad@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

University Libraries

Sarah Jones
sarah.jones@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Sciences

Rohan Dalpatadu
rohan.dalpatadu@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2023

College of Urban Affairs

Gary Larson
gary.larson@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022

Undergraduate Student

Vacant

Ex-Officio

Eleanora Carroll
eleanora.carroll@unlv.edu
Term expires July 1, 2022