Accomplishments: Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering

March 20, 2020
Pramen P. Shrestha (Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Construction), Shae Deschutter (Engineering) and Jennifer Reff (Electrical and Computer Engineering) recently were honored for their service to College of Engineering. Shrestha is a professor and graduate coordinator. Deschutter is assistant director of academic advising for retention, progression, and completion. Reff is an administrative assistant III.
March 17, 2020
Alex Hoffman, Eric Becerril-Blas, and Yoohwan Kim (all Computer Science), along with Kevin Moreno, '19 BS Computer Science, published the paper "Decentralized Security Bounty Management on Blockchain and IPFS" in the proceedings of the 2020 10th annual Computing and Communication Workshop and Conference (CCWC). This publication was awarded Best Paper in Cryptography and Information Security at IEEE CCWC 2020. The paper introduces Bountychain, a blockchain- and IPFS-based bug bounty program for...
March 12, 2020
Jee Woong Park and Cristian Arteaga (both Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction) published an article, "Building Design and its Effect on Evacuation Efficiency and Casualty Levels During an Indoor Active Shooter Incident" in the Journal of Safety Science. Arteaga is a doctoral student.
March 12, 2020
Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Chris Heavey congratulates faculty who have received tenure commencing July 1. The tenure recommendations were approved at the Board of Regents meeting on March 5. Those faculty are: Scott Abella, College of Sciences Stephen Benning, College of Liberal Arts Maile Chapman, College of Liberal Arts Lung-Wen Antony Chen, School of Public Health Chih-Chien Chen, William F. Harrah College of Hospitality Kate Hamilton, College of Fine...
March 11, 2020
The CSUN Faculty Achievement Award recognizes faculty members for outstanding dedication to students through advising, classroom instruction, mentorship, or special events. Those receiving the award in 2020 are: William Ramsey, College of Liberal Arts, department of philosophy Caitlin Saladino, Greenspun College of Urban Affairs, Lincy Institute and Brookings Mountain West Brett Levner, College of Fine Arts, department of film Shubhra Bansal, Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering, department...
March 5, 2020
George William Kajjumba (Civil & Environmental Engineering) has been selected by the scientific review panel of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings to attend the 70th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau, Germany, this summer. A graduate student, Kajjumba was among only 650 students given this opportunity.
February 25, 2020
Molly Marks (Engineering) was recognized by the Nevada Society of Professional Engineers with the Ramona Lesley Dedicated Service Award for her commitment to the engineering community over the past five years in Southern Nevada. As director of special events, Marks is the point person for several events that engage K-12 students in engineering and has spearheaded the growth of the college’s Introduce a Kid to Engineering Day, which now hosts more than 300 children participants, 50 student...
January 2, 2020
The Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Construction has received a $100,000 grant from the National Housing Endowment to start a certificate program in residential construction.
December 16, 2019
Jee Park's (Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction) research on wearable technology for communicating with construction workers about construction hazards was featured on "Construction Dive."
December 11, 2019
Alex Hoffman (Computer Science) published the article "Moral Hazards in Cyber Vulnerability Markets" in the IEEE journal Computer. The article describes the ethics and economics surrounding the cyber vulnerability market, in which bounties are paid to those who identify and report system bugs. 
November 12, 2019
Fatma Nasoz (Computer Science and The Lincy Institute) has been named November's Nevada Woman in STEM by U.S. Sen. Jacky Rosen. Nasoz is the director of information technology programs at The Lincy Institute and assistant professor with the department of computer science. Her academic research focuses on machine learning and human-computer interaction. 
October 1, 2019
Anabel Chavva (Service Learning and Leadership), Kevin Wright (Student Diversity and Social Justice), Cecil Yeckes (Sociology) Theresa Butler (Urban Studies), and Zarria Benniefield (Engineering) were part of a panel hosted by the HOPE Scholars Program and Faculty Center last month. Panel members discussed ways to support students who are experiencing food and/or housing insecurity. Benniefield, Butler, and Yeckes are students.