Welcome to Accomplishments, the place to read about the successes of your UNLV co-workers.

June 5, 2020
Erin Hamilton and Jason Smith (both Accounting) recently were featured on in "Research Sheds New Light On How Corporate Fraud Is Perpetrated" about their research on financial reporting fraud.
June 5, 2020
Keith McMath (Student Union and Event Services) has been elected as the Region I director for the Association of College Unions International. He will be working with member institutions from Nevada, California, Hawaii, Arizona, and New Mexico to further the efforts of college unions through education and outreach. College unions serve as a bridge...
June 5, 2020
David G. Schwartz (Faculty Affairs) recently published an extended blog post highlighting his research as the Neon Museum's 2020 Scholar in Residence. Called “After Howard, Before The Mirage: The Early Corporate Era of Nevada Casinos and the Shifting Visual Landscape of Las Vegas,” it considers an often-neglected period of Las Vegas casino history...
June 5, 2020
Korey Tillman (Sociology) was interviewed by the The Nevada Independent about the recent protests in Las Vegas. The article discusses the escalating tensions between protesters and law enforcement that resulted in violence during the overall peaceful protests. He is a graduate student studying mass incarceration and policing.
June 4, 2020
Brett Abarbanel (International Gaming Institute) recently was published in two scholarly journals. Her first article, "Gambling Engagement in Live Streaming on Twitch," was published in International Gambling Studies. The second article, "Gamers Who Gamble: Examining the Relationship Between Esports Spectatorship and Event Wagering," was published...
June 4, 2020
Paula Frew (Environmental & Occupational Health) recently published the article "Factors Associated With Referring Close Contacts to an App With Individually-Tailored Vaccine Information" in Vaccine.
June 4, 2020
Brittany Paloma Fiedler and Niki Fullmer (both Libraries) will present "Latinx Students in a Hispanic-Serving Institution's Academic Library" at the California Academic and Research Libraries Association 2020 virtual conference. The presentation will include preliminary findings from surveys and interviews of Latinx students at UNLV and their...
June 4, 2020
Anthony Lucas (Hospitality) and his co-author recently published the article "Examining Expanded Differences in Slot Machine Pars: An Analysis of Revenue Impacts and Player Sensitivity to 'Price'" in the International Journal of Hospitality Management. The study indicated increases in revenue for high-par games with no clear signs of play...
June 3, 2020
Danica G. Hays (Education) has been selected to serve a three-year term on the editorial board of Counselor Educaton & Supervision (CES). CES is the flagship journal of the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, a division of the American Counseling Association.

You Might Also Like

People | June 5, 2020
How a classroom assignment led UNLV alumna Jessica Walters Murrey to a career as a social change communication expert.
Portrait of Dr. Daniel Diaz wearing blue scrubs. Diaz is playing a key role in day-to-day operations at UNLV Medicine's COVID-19 curbside test operation
People | June 1, 2020
A spate of childhood sports injuries first led Diaz to medical school and now to a sports medicine fellowship at UNLV.
UNLV student with engineering building in background
People | May 28, 2020
Engineer’s research on improved flood control for Las Vegas led to a flood of research publications and a bright future.