Honors: Media Innovation Hackathon Winners

Numerous UNLV Students won awards at the Media Innovation Hackathon sponsored by the Beasley Media Group in collaboration with UNLV at the Consumer Electronics Show earlier this month.

Student teams aimed to generate potential commercial products. Winners include:

  • First Place: Converting Radio Waves to Energy. Matias Allieti (Mechanical Engineering), Yuria Mann (Computer Science), Kristine Monsada (Computer Science), Ricardo Rodriguez (Computer Science), and Erick Serrano (Computer Science)
  • Second Place: Augmented Intelligence (AR) Headset for Tourism. Aldair Callejas (Entertainment Engineering & Design), Peter Hernandez (Computer Science), and Edison Smith (Biology)
  • Third Place: Fernwell Tourism App. Ricardo Guzman (Business Administration), Ashtin Hofert (Mechanical Engineering), Joshua Padilla (Civil & Environmental Engineering), Francisco Reyes (Political Science), Allie Ryerson (Economics & Business Administration), and Fausto Vega (Mechanical Engineering).

People in the News

portrait of woman and poster for White Helmets movie
People | February 22, 2019
Movie awards season keeps UNLV alum and Netflix employee Kelli Hill on the move.
Ryan Livermore stands in a Topgolf hitting bay
People | February 21, 2019
Professional Golf Management alumnus Ryan Livermore found the perfect balance of golf and hospitality at Topgolf.
portrait of surgeon Charles St. Hill
People | February 20, 2019
UNLV School of Medicine surgeon Charles St. Hill hopes his story will inspire others.