Accomplishments: Division of Research and Economic Development

September 3, 2019
Rebecca Gill (Political Science) and her colleagues, Nadia Brown (Purdue), Libby Sharrow (UMASS), Stella Rouse (U of Maryland), and the #MeTooPoliSci Collective, have been given the the 2019 Jane Mansbridge Award for service to women in the discipline of political science by the Women's Caucus for Political Science.
August 28, 2019
Emily Salisbury (Criminal Justice) has been appointed by Gov. Steve Sisolak to serve a two-year term as a member of the Nevada Sentencing Commission. The commission is responsible for advising the Legislature on proposed legislation and make recommendations with respect to all matters relating to the elements of Nevada's criminal justice system which affect the sentences imposed for felonies and gross misdemeanors. The commission also is responsible for evaluating the effectiveness and fiscal...
August 20, 2019
Christopher Cain (Hospitality) recently was appointed to the Nevada Golf Alliance (NGA) Board of Directors. The organization coordinates the golf industry efforts for the state, supports the efforts of allied associations, and works with funded lobbyists. The NGA recently commissioned an economic impact study of Nevada Golf in which UNLV was involved. 
August 12, 2019
Sam Song (Counselor Education, School Psychology & Human Services) was honored with the American Psychological Association's (APA) Division of School Psychology (Division 16) Mid-Career Service or Practice Award. The award is presented at the APA Convention to school psychologists from seven to 20 years post-graduation who have demonstrated exceptional contributions to the field of school psychology through programs of service or innovations in practice. Additionally, Song was named...
August 9, 2019
Bo Bernhard, Sarah St. John, and Andi Dassopoulos (all International Gaming Institute) received a grant from the Nevada Governor's Advisory Committee on Problem Gambling to expand their problem gambling research, continuing the work they did for the Nevada Problem Gambling Project. These new projects will use a quantitative and qualitative approach to determine what percentage of Nevadans suffer from a gambling problem and which treatment options have proven successful for recovered problem...
August 8, 2019
Dr. Buddha Dawn (Medicine) will receive the 2019 Makoto Nagano Award for Distinguished Achievements in Cardiovascular Education. The International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences will honor Dawn during its Symposium on Cellular Therapy in Cardiovascular Medicine in Ankara, Turkey, this fall.      
July 24, 2019
Nirmala Lekhak (Nursing) was accepted for the 2019 Hartford Summer Scholar Program. The 22nd annual Summer Scholars program is a week-long, intensive, inter-professional seminar offered by the Hartford Institute Geriatric Nursing at New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing. 
July 15, 2019
Danica G. Hays (Education) has received the 2019 Legacy Award from the Association of Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES). The ACES Legacy Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant and lasting impression on ACES or on the counselor education and supervision profession. ACES is a division of the American Counseling Association, and organization representing more than 60,000 counseling practitioners, educators, and scholars. She will receive the award at the ACES Awards...
June 27, 2019
Susan S. VanBeuge (Nursing) and former School of Nursing faculty member Marcia Clevesy have been named the 2019 American Association of Nurse Practitioners Award winners for Nevada. This award recognizes outstanding achievements by nurse practitioners and nurse practitioner advocates in each state who demonstrate excellence in clinical practice.   
June 24, 2019
Jane Kober and Ruth Lopez (both Sponsored Programs) recently accomplished a career goal of receiving their certification in research administration. The designation of certified research administrator indicates that an individual has met the Research Administrators Certification Council's eligibility requirements and has demonstrated the level of knowledge necessary to be a professional research or sponsored programs administrator.
June 17, 2019
Rian Satterwhite (Service Learning and Leadership) was invited to and participated in the National Summit on Leadership Education and Student Development Partnerships, held at the University of Maryland earlier this month. With funding from the C. Charles Jackson Foundation and the National Clearinghouse for Leadership Programs, the summit drew together experienced leadership educators from academic and student affairs contexts across 16 diverse institutions. At the summit, working groups were...
June 13, 2019
Darrell W. Pepper (Mechanical Engineering) was selected to be a Sigma Xi Distinguished Lecturer from July 1, 2020, through June 30, 2022. Founded in 1886 at Cornell University, Sigma Xi (The Scientific Research Honor Society) rewards excellence in scientific research and encourages interdisciplinary cooperation among scientists.