Accomplishments: Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

September 1, 2014
Clemens Heske (Chemistry) was part of a research team that received an award through the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) hydrogen and fuel cells program. The award is for contributions to the overall efforts of the program and to recognize achievements in specific areas. Heske, Todd Deutsch (National Renewable Energy Laboratory), and Tadashi Ogitsu (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) were recognized for outstanding dedication and collaboration in photoelectrochemical surface validation....
September 1, 2014
Natalie Schibrowsky (Chemistry) has been named the American Marketing Association's Student Marketer of the Year. President of the UNLV chapter of the AMA, she was selected for the award from the 9,986 AMA student members. The award, selected by the AMA students, focuses attention on the varieties of ways AMA collegiate members demonstrate excellence and commitment to their AMA chapter's mission and the collegiate chapters' division mission. The award recognizes AMA collegiate members who...
July 1, 2014
Radiochemistry has seven doctoral students who have received fellowships in 2013 and 2014. They are: Jamie Daum and Daniel Mast, who received graduate fellowships through the U.S. Department of Energy's integrated university program. Marc Fitzgerald, who received an internship through the Livermore Graduate Scholar Program and a nuclear forensics graduate fellowship through the U.S. departments of homeland security and defense, acting through the Medical University of South Carolina and the...
February 1, 2014
Eunja Kim (Physics) and Ken Czerwinski (Chemistry) collaborated with Philippe Weck of Sandia National Laboratories on a research project that was selected as the Nov. 21, 2013, cover of the prestigious journal Dalton Transactions, which is the international journal for inorganic, organometallic, and bioinorganic chemistry. The article is "Semiconducting Layered Technetium Dichalcogenides: Insights from First-Principles."
February 1, 2014
Pradip Bhowmik (Chemistry) has been named a 2014 POLY Fellow. The award recognizes Fellows of the American Chemical Society's (ACS) Division of Polymer Chemistry for their achievement and contribution to polymer science. Only an equivalent of .1 percent of the membership can be selected from submitted nomination applications. He will be honored with a plaque at the spring ACS meeting in Dallas in March.
November 1, 2013
P.G. Schrader (Teaching & Learning) and MaryKay Orgill (Chemistry) were awarded $749,700 from the National Science Foundation for their grant proposal titled Cyber-Learning Activities to Scaffold STEM Practices (CLASSP). The grant will look at how innovative, cyber-enabled instructional methods can transform STEM education and increase opportunities for underrepresented middle school student populations. CLASSP addresses this by developing, implementing, and testing a cyber-learning...
October 1, 2013
Rebecca Springs (Chemistry) received the 2013 Coryell Award from the American Chemical Society's Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology for her research in nuclear safeguards. The award, named for American chemist Charles Dubois Coryell, recognizes undergraduate students who complete original research in nuclear chemistry, radiochemistry, or nuclear-related areas. Contributions are judged on the basis of ingenuity, novelty, and potential usefulness.
January 1, 2013
Ken Czerwinski (Chemistry) has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in the chemistry section. Election as an AAAS fellow is bestowed upon association members by their peers. He was elected because of his distinguished contributions to actinide and fission product chemistry and for building a world-class radiochemistry program at UNLV. In 2012, 702 members were awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished...