Accomplishments: Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering

April 7, 2020
Jin Ouk Choi, Saba Nikkhah Manesh, Binit K. Shrestha, and Pramen Shrestha (all Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction) and Jaewon Lim (Public Policy and Leadership) published a journal paper, "Spatial Analysis of the Gender Wage Gap in Architecture, Civil Engineering, and Construction Occupations in the United States" in the Journal of Management in Engineering published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Shrestha and Manesh are doctoral students studying under Choi.  
April 7, 2020
Andrew Thomas Reyes, William Gangozo (both Nursing), Tirth Bhatta (Sociology), and Venkatesan Muthukumar (Electrical & Computer Engineering), published an article, “Testing the Acceptability and Initial Efficacy of a Smartphone-app Mindfulness Intervention for College Student Veterans with PTSD.” This article is published in the April issue of the Archives of Psychiatric Nursing.
April 3, 2020
Sai Kosaraju and Mingon Kang (both Computer Science) published a conference paper, "PAGE-Net: Interpretable and Integrative Deep Learning for Survival Analysis Using Histopathological Images and Genomic Data," in Pacific Symposium Biocomputing, which is recognized as a top-tier bioinformatics conference as well as Intelligent Systems for Molecular Biology and International Conference on Research In Computational Molecular Biology. In the study, they developed a novel biologically interpretable...
April 2, 2020
Jin Ouk Choi, Binit K. Shrestha, Saba Nikkhah Manesh, and Pramen Shrestha (all Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction) and Jaewon Lim (Public Policy and Leadership) published a journal paper, "Employment and Wage Distribution Investigation in the Construction Industry by Gender," in the Journal of Management in Engineering published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Shrestha and Manesh are doctoral students studying under Choi.M
March 24, 2020
Alex Barzilov (Mechanical Engineering) is the recipient of this year's College of Engineering Outstanding Researcher Award. External reviewers are asked to assess the applicants based on the following criteria: Significance of the research in relation to the knowledge or advancement of the field. Publication of research findings in peer-reviewed national or international journals. Papers or related public presentations of research findings and their application and use by the discipline...
March 23, 2020
Brendan Morris (Electrical and Computer Engineering) is the winner of the 2020 College of Engineering Distinguished Teacher Award.
March 20, 2020
Pramen P. Shrestha (Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Construction), Shae Deschutter (Engineering) and Jennifer Reff (Electrical and Computer Engineering) recently were honored for their service to College of Engineering. Shrestha is a professor and graduate coordinator. Deschutter is assistant director of academic advising for retention, progression, and completion. Reff is an administrative assistant III.
March 17, 2020
Alex Hoffman, Eric Becerril-Blas, and Yoohwan Kim (all Computer Science), along with Kevin Moreno, '19 BS Computer Science, published the paper "Decentralized Security Bounty Management on Blockchain and IPFS" in the proceedings of the 2020 10th annual Computing and Communication Workshop and Conference (CCWC). This publication was awarded Best Paper in Cryptography and Information Security at IEEE CCWC 2020. The paper introduces Bountychain, a blockchain- and IPFS-based bug bounty program for...
March 12, 2020
Jee Woong Park and Cristian Arteaga (both Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction) published an article, "Building Design and its Effect on Evacuation Efficiency and Casualty Levels During an Indoor Active Shooter Incident" in the Journal of Safety Science. Arteaga is a doctoral student.
March 12, 2020
Interim Executive Vice President and Provost Chris Heavey congratulates faculty who have received tenure commencing July 1. The tenure recommendations were approved at the Board of Regents meeting on March 5. Those faculty are: Scott Abella, College of Sciences Stephen Benning, College of Liberal Arts Maile Chapman, College of Liberal Arts Lung-Wen Antony Chen, School of Public Health Chih-Chien Chen, William F. Harrah College of Hospitality Kate Hamilton, College of Fine...
March 11, 2020
The CSUN Faculty Achievement Award recognizes faculty members for outstanding dedication to students through advising, classroom instruction, mentorship, or special events. Those receiving the award in 2020 are: William Ramsey, College of Liberal Arts, department of philosophy Caitlin Saladino, Greenspun College of Urban Affairs, Lincy Institute and Brookings Mountain West Francisco Menendez, College of Fine Arts, department of film Yingtao Jiang, Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering...
March 5, 2020
George William Kajjumba (Civil & Environmental Engineering) has been selected by the scientific review panel of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings to attend the 70th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau, Germany, this summer. A graduate student, Kajjumba was among only 650 students given this opportunity.