You are here

UNLV Lee Business School to Host Nevada Business Hall of Fame Feb. 13

From the Archives
Please note that this release is more than two years old and details may have changed since the publish date. For inquiries, contact the the media relations office.
Diana L. Bennett, Mark L. Fine, and the late Nevada Governor Kenny C. Guinn will be honored for their contributions to Nevada's economic development.
Business & Community  |  Jan 29, 2014  |  By Karyn S. Hollingsworth
Media Contact: Karyn Hollingsworth, 702-895-3904


The UNLV Lee Business School will honor prominent business leaders at the 2014 Nevada Business Hall of Fame dinner and induction ceremony. Diana L. Bennett, Mark L. Fine and the late Nevada Gov. Kenny C. Guinn will be honored for their contributions to Nevada's economic development.


Thursday, Feb. 13. Cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and the induction ceremony at 7 p.m.


The Mirage Hotel & Casino, Grand Ballroom
3400 Las Vegas Boulevard South
Las Vegas, NV 89109


The Nevada Business Hall of Fame began in 2002 and is presented by the UNLV Lee Business School in partnership with Deloitte & Touche USA LLP.

The 2014 inductees include:

  • Diana L. Bennett - Bennett is CEO and co-founder of Paragon Gaming and a second-generation casino operator. Paragon developed, constructed and manages River Cree Resort and Casino in Alberta, Canada. A former executive with Circus Circus Enterprises, Bennett is a recognized expert in establishing gaming systems. Bennett has also contributed to the mission of UNLV's Black Mountain Institute through the Diana L. Bennett Fellows Program in support of published writers.
  • Mark L. Fine - Fine is one of the most noted real estate developers in Southern Nevada. As president of American Nevada Company, he guided the development of Green Valley, Las Vegas' first large, master-planned community, and later the Summerlin community. For his education advocacy efforts, the Clark County School District named an elementary school in Fine's honor in 2009. Fine is also an appointed member of the UNLV Foundation Board of Trustees.
  • Kenny C. Guinn - Guinn served as Nevada Governor from 1999 to 2007 and was a staunch supporter of public education. A former superintendent of the Clark County School District, his legacy includes founding the Millennium Scholarship program to help Nevada high school graduates attend Nevada colleges and universities. Guinn previously served as chairman of the Nevada Development Authority, president and board chairman of PriMerit Bank, and president, chief executive officer and board chairman of Nevada Savings and Loan. He was chairman and CEO of Southwest Gas from 1988 to 1993. He also served as interim president of UNLV from 1994 to 1995. The Clark County School District named a middle school in his honor. He died in 2010.

Tickets are $275 per person; tables of 10 are $2,500.

To register, visit the Nevada Business Hall of Fame website.

For more information, contact Anna Drury at (702) 895-3608 or [email protected].


Media are welcome to attend and must register for a credential by contacting Karyn S. Hollingsworth at (702) 895-3904, [email protected].