You are here

Two School of Nursing Students Named Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholars

From the Archives
Please note that this release is more than two years old and details may have changed since the publish date. For inquiries, contact the the media relations office.
May 15, 2012  |  By Megan Downs
Media Contact: Megan Downs, Office of Media Relations (702) 895-0898

Two UNLV School of Nursing students were named Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholars and will receive $20,000 for their nursing studies over the next two years.

The Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholar Program was created in 2008 to support educational development of new nursing faculty and simulate models for joint faculty appointments between schools of nursing and clinical affiliates.

The Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholar Program supports more than 250 scholars, spreading the program's reach across all 50 states. The program hopes to increase the amount of nurses with doctorates so that schools will have sufficient and qualified teachers, who will in turn help students address the needs of future patients.

Brain Selig is a student in the doctor of nursing practice program at UNLV who will receive $10,000 over the next two years from the Jonas award. Selig is currently the director of adult and pediatric emergency services at the University Medical Center of Southern Nevada. He spent his career focusing on all aspects of emergency care, working as a staff nurse, an air medical flight nurse, and an administrator. His research focus includes nursing accreditation programs and medical care at mass gathering events, healthcare policy, nursing advocacy, and government affairs.

Susan Adameck is a student in the doctorate of nursing program at UNLV who will also receive $10,000 over the next two years from the Jonas award. She is currently the director of education for St. Rose Dominican Hospitals in Henderson and Las Vegas. She is president of the Nevada Organization of Nurse Leaders, board member for the Nevada chapter of the American College of Healthcare Executives, and is a member of the education advisory committee of the Nevada State Board of Nursing. Her research interests include patient safety in the acute care setting, staff development and the transition to practice experience of newly licensed nurses.