You are here

2014 Faculty & Staff Awards

UNLV employees recently were honored at the 2014 Academic Achievement Gala for notable research, teaching, and service.

Campus News  |  Apr 21, 2014  |  By University Communications

UNLV held its first Academic Achievement Gala on April 17 to honor the distinguished teaching and research of faculty members. Faculty also showcased their innovative and collaborative work during the event's poster presentations.

Regent Awards

Regents' Scholar Award (Undergraduate)

  • Brittany Radke, Honors, B.S. Civil Engineering, Minor in Solar and Renewable Energy

Regents' Scholar Award (Graduate)

  • David M. Armstrong, M.A., Ph.D. English Committee Chair: Maile Chapman

Regents' Rising Researcher Awards

  • Katherine Hertlein, Marriage & Family Therapy

Regents' Creative Activities Award

  • Donald Revell, English

Regents' Academic Advisor Award - Undergraduate

  • Tiffany Schmier, Honors College

University Awards

Harry Reid Silver State Research Award

  • Shahram Latifi, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Barrick Distinguished Scholar Award

  • Russell Hurlburt, Psychology
  • Pushkin Kachroo, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Barrick Scholar Award

  • Katherine Hertlein, Marriage & Family Therapy

Outstanding Department Chair Award

  • Gillian Galbraith, Biomedical Studies, School of Dental Medicine

UNLV Foundation Distinguished Teaching Awards

  • Robert Aalberts, Accounting
  • P. Jane Hafen, English
  • Daniel McAllister, Management, Entrepreneurship, &Technology
  • Scott Nowicki, Geoscience
  • Sang-Duck Seo, Art

Alex G. and Faye Spanos Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Andrew Spivak, Sociology

Outstanding Teaching by Part-Time Faculty Award

  • Kathleen Callahan, Journalism & Media Studies
  • Kerie Francis, Sociology
  • Tereza Jezkova, Life Sciences
  • Joanna Kepka, Honors
  • Jose Santillana, Women's Studies

Administrative Faculty Member of the Year Award

  • Frank Durand, Boyd School of Law

Educational Outreach Faculty Excellence Award

  • Heath Hiudt, Sommelier/Continuing Education Instructor

Faculty International Development Award

  • Manoucheka Celeste, Interdisciplinary Degree Programs

UNLV Alumni Association Outstanding Faculty Award

  • Seyhmus Baloglu, Hotel

UNLV Academic Advisor Awards

Academic Advisor Award (Undergraduate)

  • Tiffany Schmier, Honors College

Academic Advisor Award (Graduate)

  • Lisa Davis, MBA Programs

James S. McPhee Librarian of the Year

  • Cory Tucker, University Libraries

CSUN Faculty Awards

  • Sharon Jalene, Health Sciences
  • Abigail Aguilar, Liberal Arts
  • Pradip Bhowmik, Sciences
  • Nancy Syzdek, Urban Affairs

Graduate Student and Faculty Awards

Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

  • 1st Place: Lori Fazzino, doctoral student in Sociology
  • 2nd Place: Cynthia Clark, doctoral student in Teaching & Learning
  • 3rd Place: Daniel Alameda, masters student in Music

Outstanding Thesis Award

  • Riley Berry, Master of Hotel Administration -- "How We Complain: The Effect of Personality on Consumer Complaint Channels." Committee Chair: Sarah Tanford

Outstanding Dissertation Award

  • Jonathan William Plaue, Ph.D. Radiochemistry -- "Forensic Signatures of Chemical Process History in Uranium Oxides." Committee Chair: Kenneth Czerwinski

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award

  • Vikki Rosser, Educational Psychology & Higher Education

College and School Awards

Academic Success Center

  • Service Award: Heather Hatch
  • Student-Centered Award: Anne White
  • Outstanding Teaching Award: Katharine Johnson
  • Outstanding Teaching Award: Doris Watson, Educational Psychology & Higher Education Campus Community Partner Award

School Of Allied Health Sciences

  • Distinguished Scholarship Award: Ralf Sudow, Health Physics & Diagnostic Sciences
  • Distinguished Teaching Award: Michelle Samuels, Kinesiology & Nutrition Sciences
  • Distinguished Service Award: George Pales, Health Physics & Diagnostic Sciences

Lee Business School

  • Teacher Of The Year: Bradley Wimmer, Economics
  • Researcher Of The Year: Robyn Raschke, Accounting
  • Service Provider Of The Year: Stephen Miller, Economics

School of Community Health Sciences

  • Excellence in Research: Guogen Shan, Environmental & Occupational Health
  • Excellence In Service: Christopher Cochran, Health Care Administration & Policy
  • Excellence In Teaching: Patricia Cruz Perez, Environmental & Occupational Health

William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration

  • Boyd Award for Teaching: Vince Eade
  • Boyd Award for Research: Sarah Tanford
  • Boyd Award for Service: Rhonda Montgomery

College of Education

  • Distinguished Research Award: Jian Wang, Teaching & Learning
  • Distinguished Teaching Award: Michael Nussbaum, Educational Psychology & Higher Education
  • Distinguished Service Award: Joseph Morgan, Educational & Clinical Studies
  • Distinguished Service Award: Jeffrey Shih, Teaching & Learning
  • Early Career Award: Micah Stohlmann, Teaching & Learning

Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering

  • Distinguished Teacher Award: Haroon Stephen, Civil & Environmental Engineering &Construction
  • Distinguished Researcher Award: Pushkin Kachroo, Electrical & Computer Engineering

College of Fine Arts

  • Charles Vanda, Award For Excellence in the Arts: Joe Nate Bynum, Theatre
  • Outstanding Teacher of the Year: David Weiller, Music
  • Outstanding Part-Time Teacher Award: Ricardo Reyna, Film

College of Liberal Arts

  • Donald Schmiedel Lifetime Service Award: Barbara Brents, Sociology
  • Rita Deanin Abbey Teacher of the Year Award: Alicia Rico, World Languages & Cultures
  • William Morris Award For Excellence In Scholarship: Todd Robinson, History
  • William Morris Award For Excellence In Scholarship: Daniel Allen, Psychology
  • William Morris Award For Excellence In Scholarship: Naoko Takemaru, World Languages & Cultures
  • William Morris Award For Excellence In Scholarship: Michael Borer, Sociology
  • College of Liberal Arts' Diversity Award: Todd Robinson, History

School of Nursing

  • Excellence in Teaching: Marianne Tejada
  • Excellence in Service: Susan VanBeuge
  • Excellence in Research: Jillian Inouye
  • Excellence in Research: Michael Johnson

College of Sciences

  • Distinguished Researcher Award: Brian Hedlund, Life Sciences
  • Distinguished Teaching Award: Michael Pravica, Physics & Astronomy

University Libraries

  • Libraries Outstanding Faculty Scholarship Award: Marianne Buehler, Urban Sustainability Librarian
  • Libraries Outstanding Faculty Service Award: Cory Tucker, Collection Management

Greenspun College of Urban Affairs

  • Outstanding Research Award: Stephen Bates, Journalism & Media Studies
  • Outstanding Teaching Award: Katherine Hertlein, Marriage & Family Therapy
  • Outstanding Service Award: Ramona Denby, Social Work