You are here

2013 Faculty & Staff Awards

UNLV employees recently were honored at the 2013 Academic Recognition Ceremony with systemwide and universitywide awards for notable research, teaching, and service.
Campus News  |  May 7, 2013  |  By University Communications

2013 NSHE Board of Regents' Awards

Regents' Scholar Award (Undergraduate)

  • Emylia Terry - Honors, B.A. History, Psychology, Women's Studies

Regents' Scholar Award (Graduate)

  • Erik N. Ringdahl, M.A. - Ph.D. Clinical Psychology - Advisor: Daniel Allen

Regents' Rising Researcher Awards

  • Mei Yang, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Regents' Teaching Award

  • Megan Becker-Leckrone, English

UNLV Awards

UNLV Distinguished Professor Award

  • Dennis Lindle, Chemistry

Harry Reid Silver State Research Award

  • Bradley Donohue, Psychology

2012 Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching Nevada Professor of the Year

  • Alfredo Fern?ndez-Gonz?lez, Architecture

UNLV Foundation Distinguished Teaching Award

  • David Hames, Management, Entrepreneurship & Technology
  • Megan Becker-Leckrone, English
  • Elizabeth White Nelson, History
  • Michale Sullivan, Finance

Alex G. and Faye Spanos Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Kathleen Robins, Chemistry

Outstanding Teaching by Part-Time Faculty Award

  • Christina Martinez, English
  • Brandon Moore, Civil & Environmental Engineering & Construction
  • Leeanne Sorenson, English
  • Zachary Porter, Mathematical Sciences
  • Scott Tenney, English

Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

  • 1st Place: Thomas Bussey, a doctoral student in Chemistry
  • 2nd Place: Emily Hensleigh, a doctoral student in Psychology
  • 3rd Place: Mackenzie Burns, a doctoral student in Public Health

Thesis/Dissertation Awards

Outstanding Thesis Award
  • Ji Hye Min, M.S. Hotel Administration
    "Evaluating the Impact of a New Casino Loyalty Program on Gaming Volume"
    Committee Chair: Dr. Carola Raab
Outstanding Dissertation Award
  • Mohammad Saadeh, Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering
    "A Refreshable and Portable E-Braille System for the Blind and Visually Impaired"
    Committee Chair: Dr. Mohamed Trabia

Graduate and Professional Student Association Leadership Recognition

  • Michael Gordon, M.A.
    President, Graduate & Professional Student Association, 2011-2013
    President, Nevada Student Alliance, 2012-2013

Barrick Awards

Barrick Distinguished Scholar Award
  • Yi-Tung Chen, Mechanical Engineering
  • Marta Meana, Psychology
Barrick Scholar Award
  • Hui Zhao, Mechanical Engineering
  • Tiffany Howard, Political Science
Outstanding Department Chair Award
  • John Tuman, Political Science

Administrative Faculty Awards

Administrative Faculty Committee Leadership Recognition
  • Shaun Franklin-Sewell
Administrative Faculty Member of the Year Award
  • Eric Knight, Science and Engineering Building

UNLV Academic Advisor Awards

Academic Advisor Award (Undergraduate)
  • Kia Vichaikul, William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration
Academic Advisor Award (Graduate)
  • David Holland, History

Division of Educational Outreach

Educational Outreach Faculty Excellence Award
  • Ed Nagelhout, English
International Programs - Faculty International Development Award
  • Stephen Rice, Mechanical Engineering
University Libraries - James S. McPhee Librarian of the Year
  • Cory Lampert

CSUN Faculty Awards

  • BUSINESS: Anjala Krishen
  • EDUCATION: Karen Grove
  • ENGINEERING: Ying Tian
  • FINE ARTS: Nate Bynum
  • HEALTH SCIENCES: Mark Guadagnoli
  • LIBERAL ARTS: Eugene Moehring
  • SCIENCES: Michael Pravica
  • URBAN AFFAIRS: Mary Hausch

UNLV Alumni Association Outstanding Faculty Award

  • Jean Hertzman, William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration

College and School Awards

Academic Success Center

Service Award
  • Dan Gianoutsos
  • Mary Belletti
Student-Centered Award
  • David Wedley
Outstanding Faculty Award
  • Chris Heavey, General Education
  • Brackley Frayer, Theatre

Schol of Allied Health Sciences

Distinguished Scholarship Award
  • Gabriele Wulf, Kinesiology and Nutrition Sciences

Lee Business School

Teacher of the Year
  • Kim Charron, Accounting
Researcher of the Year
  • Andrew Zhang, Finance
Service Provider of the Year
  • Jack Schibrowsky, Marketing and International Business

School of Community Health Sciences

Excellence in Research
  • Jay Shen, Health Care Administration and Policy
Excellence in Service
  • Mark Buttner, Environmental and Occupational Health
Excellence in Teaching
  • Patricia Cruz Perez, Environmental and Occupational Health
  • Michelle Chino, Environmental and Occupational Health

College of Education

Distinguished Research Award
  • Jian Wang, Teaching and Learning
Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Shannon Smith, Educational and Clinical Studies
Distinguished Service Award
  • Vicki Rosser, Educational Psychology and Higher Education
Collaborative Group Awards
  • Nevada Partnership for Inclusive Education
    • Tom Pierce, Educational and Clinical Studies
  • 21st Century Schools Partnership
    • Linda Quinn, Teaching and Learning
    • Marilyn McKinney, Teaching and Learning
    • Karen Grove, Teaching and Learning
    • Lois Paretti, Teaching and Learning
    • Neal Strudler, Teaching and Learning

Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering

Distinguished Teacher Award
  • Yahia Baghzouz, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Distinguished Researcher Award
  • Nader Ghafoori, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction

College of Fine Arts

Charles Vanda Award for Excellence in the Arts
  • Francisco Menendez, Film
Outstanding Teacher of the Year
  • Dana Moran-Williams, Theatre
Outstanding Part-Time Teacher Award
  • Laurene DeBord-Foulk, Film

William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration

Claudine Williams Distinguished Chair Award
  • Robert Woods
Sam and Mary Boyd Distinguished Professor for Research
  • Yen-Soon Kim
Sam and Mary Boyd for Distinguished Service Award
  • Curtis Love
Ace Denken Distinguished Researcher
  • Bo Bernhard
Sam and Mary Boyd Distinguished Professor for Teaching
  • William Werner

College of Liberal Arts

Donald Schmiedel Lifetime Service Award
  • Bradley Donohue, Psychology
Rita Deanin Abbey Teacher of the Year Award
  • Ian Dove, Philosophy
William Morris Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Joel Snyder, Psychology
  • John Bowers, English
William Morris Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Marcia Gallo, History
College of Liberal Arts' Diversity Award
  • Kevin Dawson, History

School of Nursing

Excellence in Teaching
  • Nancy Menzel
Excellence in Service
  • Rhigel Tan
Excellence in Research
  • Alona Angosta

College of Sciences

Distinguished Researcher Award
  • Brett Riddle, Life Sciences
Distinguished Teacher Award
  • Pradip Bhowmik, Chemistry
Distinguished Classified Staff Award
  • Patricia Hunt, Life Sciences

University Libraries

Libraries Outstanding Faculty Scholarship Award
  • Dave Schwartz, Gaming Studies Research Center
Libraries Outstanding Faculty Service Award
  • Cyrus Ford, Special Formats Librarian

Outgoing Deans

  • E. Lee Bernick, Ph.D. - Interim Dean, Greenspun College of Urban Affairs
  • Mary Guinan, Ph.D., M.D. - Founding Dean, School of Community Health Sciences 2004 - 2013
  • Percy Poon, Ph.D. - Interim Dean, Lee Business School, 2012 - 2013
  • Nancy B. Rapoport, J.D. - Interim Dean, William S. Boyd School of Law 2012 - 2013
  • William R. Speer, Ph.D. - Interim Dean, College of Education 2009 - 2013