Excess Credit Fee
$121.13 per credit
An Excess Credit Fee shall be charged to a student who has attempted credits equal to 150 percent of the credits required for the student's program of study. The amount of this additional fee is equal to 50 percent of the per credit registration fee. Attempted credits include all graded courses on a student's transcript, including but not limited to the grades of F and W (withdrawal) and repeated courses. The fee will be charged, for example, after 90 credits have been attempted towards a 60-credit associate's degree or 180 credits towards a 120-credit bachelor's degree. Exceptions may apply on a case-by-case basis. The fee will be charged in all terms after passing the threshold number of credits until a degree is awarded to the student. An appeal procedure and other exceptions to this fee are outlined in the catalog.
An appeals process exists for students who are charged the fee. Please complete the Excess Credit Fee Appeal form
Program Specific Special Fees
All course related fees and other special fees are due at the time the course is added or registered for. These fees are in addition to the per credit tuition and fees. Please see your individual department if you have questions related to program specific fees.
Differential Program Fees
The Board of Regents of the State of Nevada approved a proposal in December 2010 for the School of Nursing, School of Business, School of Architecture and Department of Physical Therapy at UNLV to implement differential tuition to these programs effective Spring 2012. For a complete list of all UNLV programs and courses, please refer to the Board of Regents Manual, Section 7, for a breakdown of the additional costs.
Special Course Fees
Course fees related to individual courses are listed on the web registration system per course.
All students taking undergraduate courses (100-400 level) shall be assessed the undergraduate fees. All students taking graduate courses (600-700 level) shall be assessed the graduate fees. Audit fees are identical to the undergraduate or graduate fees.
The course charges on this page do not pertain to law students taking courses during a law term or to dental students. If you are a law student, you must check with the William S. Boyd School of Law for the appropriate charges. Dental students must check with the School of Dental Medicine.
All fees are subject to change as approved by the Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents. Please consult the Office of Cashiering and Student Accounts for up-to-date information or the NSHE Board of Regents Manual.
Still have a question, comment or need help? Send to: Cashiering and Student Accounts.