Council for Centers, Institutes, Museums, & Labs

The Council is responsible for initial review and recommendation of proposals for new centers, institutes, museums, and laboratories as well as for conducting annual reviews of existing units. These units are primarily directed toward basic/applied research, client or public service, policy studies and reports, or serve as an archive/repository.

Recommendations from the Council are forwarded to the Vice President for Research. The Vice President for Research, in turn, makes a recommendation to the Executive Vice President and Provost. Requests for new centers, institutes, museums and laboratories are then forwarded for processing through the Chancellor’s Office and the Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents. After a new center, institute, museum or laboratory is approved by the Board of Regents, the day-to-day operational administration and oversight typically is managed through an academic department, school, or college.

The Council holds a monthly meeting to consider among other agenda items new applications for the approval, closure and name changes for any units seeking to use the words Center, Institute, Museum or Laboratory in their name. Those applications must also be approved pursuant to the Board of Regents schedule of meetings.    

In Fall 2023, regular meetings of the Council will take place  on Zoom as follows

  • Sept. 1, 3 pm
  • Oct. 6, 3 pm
  • Nov. 2, 3pm
  • Dec. 1, 3pm

Please email in order to get your item on an upcoming agenda.

Council Members

Ruben Garcia

Chair, Law School
Mail Code: 1003
Phone: 702-895-4990

Hasan Deniz, Ph.D.

Center for Mathematics, Science, and Engineering Education
Office: CEB 342A/368A
Mail Code: 3005
Phone: 702-895-1324

Jeffrey Ebersole

Dental Medicine
Office: SLC-B 221
Mail Code: 7410
Phone: 702-774-4152

Rebecca Gill, Ph.D.

Political Science
Office: WRI-B 209
Mail Code: 5029
Phone: 702-895-2525

Jefferson W. Kinney, Ph.D.

Office: SEB 1172
Mail Code: 4022
Phone: 702-895-4766

Jaeyun Moon

Mechanical Engineering, Center for Energy Research 
Office: SEB 2218
Mail Code: 4027
Phone: 702-895-5611

Kimberly Murphy

Council Secretary
Office: FDH 309
Mail Code: 1092
Phone: 702-895-1828


Lindsay Couzens, Ph.D.

Office of Sr. Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Office: FDH 709
Mail Code: 1099
Phone: 702-895-0407

Gwen Marchand, Ph.D.

Division of Research
Office: FDH 305
Mail Code: 1092
Phone: 702-895-4811

Associate Deans for Research

The Associate Deans for Research serve in an advisory capacity to the Vice President for Research, but also provide a critical formal link back to the colleges on important research issues. The associate deans serve as liaisons of their colleges to the Division of Research, offering insights into the interests of their faculty and students, promoting the research of their respective colleges, and helping inform the institutional research agenda.

Membership List