Accomplishments: Division of Health Sciences

July 1, 2014
School of Nursing earned a 10-year accreditation for its bachelor's and master's programs from the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). The school voluntarily seeks accreditation and participates in the self-assessment and evaluation processes. It has maintained accreditation since the 1970s, specifically from CCNE since 2008.
July 1, 2014
Jessica Doolen, Michelle Giddings, and Michael Johnson (all Nursing), along with Gigi Guizado de Nathan and Lysander Abadia of the University of Nevada School of Medicine, authored "An Evaluation of Mental Health Simulation with Standardized Patients." The article, which appeared in the March issue of the International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship, examines how interviews with standardized patients portraying persons with psychiatric disorders increases therapeutic communication,...
July 1, 2014
Maulah Adanri and Paul Smith (Nursing) have been selected as Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholars by the School of Nursing. Each of these doctoral students will receive $20,000 for their nursing studies during the next two years, making them part of a national effort to combat the nursing faculty shortage and prepare future nurses as America's healthcare system continues to evolve. Adanri is pursuing a doctor of nursing practice (DNP) degree. She is currently the manager of the Cardiac Telemetry,...
May 1, 2014
Alona Angosta, Jennifer Kawi, and Bruce Leonard (all Nursing) have been selected to the Summer Genetics Institute, which is a tuition-free, one-month intensive research training program at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Md. The program, sponsored by the National Institute of Nursing Research, seeks to increase the research capability among graduate students and faculty, and develop and expand clinical practice in genetics among clinicians.
February 1, 2014
Dennis Bazylinski (Life Sciences ) and Mark Buttner (Community Health Sciences) received a 14-month, $106,098 award from the Clark County School District to establish an airborne pollen monitoring program in Las Vegas.
November 1, 2013
Rhigel "Jay" Tan (Nursing) received Nevada Business magazine's "Educator Healthcare Hero" award during the eighth annual Healthcare Heroes ceremony in September. The publication created the award to recognize outstanding health care professionals in both Northern and Southern Nevada. A diverse panel of health care professionals chose 10 honorees in each region from hundreds of nominations. He is the fourth UNLV nursing faculty member to be chosen for the award.
October 1, 2013
Vanessa Gepielago (Nursing) received the Lillian Wald Community Nursing Award for her efforts to encourage a change in Nevada law regarding sexual education. She encouraged the review and passage of a bill that would modernize the current curriculum, which she believes would help reduce the state's rising teen pregnancy rate. The award is named in honor of 19th century nurse Lillian Wald, who pioneered the concept of public health nursing. The School of Nursing presents the award each semester...
October 1, 2013
Barbara St. Pierre Schneider (Nursing) had her work published in the August issue of Aviation, Space, and Environmental Medicine, which is the official journal of the Aerospace Medical Association. The article, "Simulated Flight, Muscle Genetics, and Inflammatory Indicators in Mice," describes her research testing the effects of short-term exposure of aircraft cabin pressure on skeletal muscle.
September 1, 2013
Mark Buttner and Patricia Cruz (Community Health Sciences) received a $1.1 million, 16-month award from the Nevada department of health and human services to conduct environmental monitoring.
March 1, 2013
Tish Smyer (Nursing) has been reappointed by the governor to the Nevada State Board of Nursing. Currently serving as board president, she originally was appointed to the board in 2008. Her new term expires in October 2016. The board is charged with protecting the public's health, safety, and welfare through effective nursing regulation. Nursing professor Rhigel Tan also serves on the State Board of Nursing, having been appointed in 2011. Smyer, as associate dean at the School of Nursing,...
March 1, 2013
Connie Mobley (Dental School) is an invited keynote speaker at the International Association for Dental Research/American Association for Dental Research annual meeting in Seattle in March. The title of her presentation is "Nutrition and Oral Health Research Horizons: Obesity and Diabetes Prevention."
July 27, 2012
Ken Czerwinski (Harry Reid Center for Environmental Studies) and Ralf Sudowe (Health Physics and Diagnostic Science) received a $596,146 grant from National Security Technologies (NSTec) for development of synthetic debris for nuclear forensics.