Regents' Rising Researcher Award

The Nevada Regents’ Rising Researcher Award is given annually to one faculty member from each institution of UNLV, UNR, and DRI. Awards are based on early-career accomplishments and potential for future advancement and recognition in research. The award carries a stipend of $2,000.

Candidates must be nominated for this honor.

Candidates must be in an assistant professor position, have a strong beginning record of accomplishment during the time of employment with NSHE, and have a record of outstanding research accomplishment that is demonstrable through publications, patents and intellectual property, or grants and contracts at the time of nomination.

Nominations and Application Process

Award Timeline

  • Notification sent by Chancellor’s Office to NSHE campuses to begin the nomination process: Late August/Early September
  • Campuses forward nominations to System Office: late November
  • System Office submits recommendations for award recipients to the Board of Regents: January - February

Composition of NSHE Selection Committee

  • Vice President for Research
  • Appropriate senior research faculty
  • Recommendations shall be presented to the Research and Economic Development Committee for final approval