Research Skills Academy

The Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) provides students with a multitude of opportunities for professional development and career training in research. As such, OUR's Research Skills Academy (RSA) serves to inform and empower students with research training and skills to become research ready.

For the upcoming Summer 2021 semester, all RSA trainings will be offered virtually through Webex. Please register through the UNLV Involvement Center to receive the meeting information.

Current RSA Workshops

Summer 2021 Research Skills Academy

Event Title Date Time Location
Active Reading: How to Effectively Interrogate Text Tuesday, June 8, 2021 10:00am
Virtual/Online
How to Write Abstracts and Annotations Tuesday, June 15, 2021 10:00am
Webinar
Research Ethics Tuesday, June 22, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
Professional Development Tuesday, June 29, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
How to Navigate the Digital Information Landscape Tuesday, July 6, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
Applying for Graduate School: What to Know and Expect Tuesday, July 13, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
How to Effectively Create Presentations and Posters Tuesday, July 20, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
Paper Drafts Tuesday, July 27, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
Summer '21 Virtual Undergraduate Research Showcase Friday, August 6, 2021 9:00am
Virtual

Fall 2021 Research Skills Academy

Event Title Date Time Location
OUR Open House Wednesday, August 25, 2021 1:00pm
In-Person & Virtual Session
What is Research? Understanding the Research Cycle Monday, August 30, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
How to Navigate the Digital Information Landscape Tuesday, August 31, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
Active Reading: How To Effectively Interrogate Text Tuesday, September 7, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
How to Write a Research Literature Review Wednesday, September 8, 2021 10:00am
Virtual Webex
A Guide to Research and Documentation Thursday, September 9, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
Introduction to Research Data Management Monday, September 13, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
Research Ethics Tuesday, September 14, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
Research with Human Subjects and the IRB Process Thursday, September 16, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
Research with Human Subjects and the IRB Process Thursday, September 16, 2021 2:30pm
Virtua
Involving Students in Research with the Kerkorian School of Medicine Monday, September 20, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
Writing Abstracts for Professional Conferences and Publications Wednesday, September 22, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
How to Effectively Prepare Manuscripts for Spectra Publication Wednesday, September 29, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
Best Practices for Successful Mentor-Mentee Relationships Thursday, September 30, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
Nuts and Bolts of Writing a Strong Letter of Recommendation Wednesday, October 13, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual