The Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) provides students with a multitude of opportunities for professional development and career training in research. As such, OUR's Research Skills Academy (RSA) serves to inform and empower students with research training and skills to become research ready.

For the upcoming semester, all RSA trainings will be offered virtually through Webex. Please register through the UNLV Involvement Center to receive meeting information.

In addition to RSA trainings, OUR offers research-oriented instructional support for faculty through classroom presentations.

Current RSA Workshops

Spring 2022 Research Skills Academy

Event Title Date Time Location
OUR: Open House Tuesday, January 18, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: The Inquiring Mind in Action: Starting Research Monday, January 24, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Responsible and Ethical Conduct of Research Wednesday, January 26, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: What Will Help You to Get Research Ready Tuesday, February 1, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Finding and Using Sources Beyond the Internet Wednesday, February 2, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: How to Read Like a Scholar Monday, February 7, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Engaging with the Published Literature Wednesday, February 9, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Research w/ Human Subjects and the IRB Process Thursday, February 10, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Fundamentals of Data: Origins and Metadata Monday, February 14, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Data Have Their Own Life Cycle Tuesday, February 15, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Healthy Habits to Conduct Research Safely Wednesday, February 23, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Writing a Data Management Plan Monday, February 28, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Story Telling with Data Tuesday, March 1, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: How to Write a Successful Abstract Monday, March 7, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Writing Crystal Clear Introductions Tuesday, March 8, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: To Sum Up: How to End Your Research Article Wednesday, March 9, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Writing Strong Research Proposals and Funding Applications Thursday, March 10, 2022 10:00am
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Discovering Future Possibilities with Inspiring Peers Monday, March 21, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Letter of Recommendation Dos and Don'ts Tuesday, March 22, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Are You Research Ready for Grad School? What to Expect Wednesday, March 30, 2022 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Planning Your Poster Presentation Wednesday, April 6, 2022 2:30pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Communicating Your Research Thursday, April 7, 2022 10:00am
Virtual/Webex
OUR's Spring 2022 Undergraduate Research Symposium Wednesday, April 27, 2022 12:00pm
SU Ballroom A, B, C, and SU 208, 211 & 213