Research Skills Academy

The Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) provides students with a multitude of opportunities for professional development and career training in research. As such, OUR's Research Skills Academy (RSA) serves to inform and empower students with research training and skills to become research ready.

For the upcoming semester, all RSA trainings will be offered virtually through Webex. Please register through the UNLV Involvement Center to receive meeting information.

In addition to RSA trainings, OUR offers research-oriented instructional support for faculty through classroom presentations.

Current RSA Workshops

Fall 2021 Research Skills Academy

Event Title Date Time Location
OUR Open House Wednesday, August 25, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual Session
What is Research? Understanding the Research Cycle Monday, August 30, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: How to Navigate the Digital Information Landscape Tuesday, August 31, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
OUR: What is Your Story? Inspiring Undergraduate Researchers Tuesday, August 31, 2021 4:00pm
Virtual
OUR: Active Reading: How To Effectively Interrogate Text Tuesday, September 7, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: How to Write a Research Literature Review Wednesday, September 8, 2021 10:00am
Virtual Webex
OUR: A Guide to Research and Documentation Thursday, September 9, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
OUR: Introduction to Research Data Management Monday, September 13, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: Research Ethics Tuesday, September 14, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: Research with Human Subjects and the IRB Thursday, September 16, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
OUR: Active Reading: How to Effectively Interrogate Text Friday, September 17, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: Involving Students in Research with the Kerkorian School of Medicine Monday, September 20, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual/Webex
OUR: Writing Abstracts for Professional Conferences and Publications Wednesday, September 22, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
OUR: How to Effectively Prepare Manuscripts for Spectra Publication Wednesday, September 29, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
OUR: Best Practices for Successful Mentor-Mentee Relationships Thursday, September 30, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: What is Your Story? Inspiring Undergraduate Researchers Tuesday, October 12, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: Nuts and Bolts of Writing a Strong Letter of Recommendation Wednesday, October 13, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
OUR: Undergraduate Intellectual Property & Entrepreneurship Thursday, October 14, 2021 2:30pm
Virtual
OUR: Are You Research Ready for Graduate School? What to Expect Tuesday, October 26, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: Nuts and Bolts of Writing Research Proposals and Grants Wednesday, October 27, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR: How to Effectively Create Posters Thursday, October 28, 2021 10:00am
Virtual
OUR: All Things Lab Safety Monday, November 1, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR Symposium Clinic: How to Self-Record, Upload, and Submit Videos and Presentations Wednesday, November 3, 2021 1:00pm
Virtual
OUR’s Fall 2021 Virtual Undergraduate Research Symposium Monday, November 15, 2021 9:00am
Virtual