Woman posing next to whiteboard

Inspiration, Innovation, Impact: A Celebration of Graduate Student Research

The Inspiration, Innovation, Impact event showcases the best in UNLV graduate student research. We invite you to join us to see a select group of outstanding graduate students from a variety of colleges giving short, 5-minute, TED-style talks or performances showcasing their research, scholarship, or creative activities.

Inspiration, Innovation, Impact kicks off the Graduate & Professional Student Association's annual Research Forum.

This year, the applicant pool was incredibly impressive. So, in addition to the eight presenters who will present in person on April 1, another group of equally accomplished graduate students have recorded their presentations, and they are available below to view.

Upcoming Events

This event has passed, but please check out details from our past event.

Application Information

Applicants will go through several steps:

1. Submit Your Video & Application by February 21, 2022

Applicants submit an initial video (no longer than two minutes in length). This video should convey who you are, what topic you propose to speak on, and the broader impacts of your research. Applicants will be notified no later than Friday, February 25, if they have been selected to move on. 

2. Invitation to Present to Review Panel (Week of March 1-4, 2022)

Selected contestants will present their research to the Review Panel. Presentations should be no longer than five minutes and a PowerPoint Presentation is required. Applicants will be notified on Friday, March 4, 2022, if they have been invited to present at the 7th Annual Inspiration, Innovation Impact event. 

3. 7th Annual Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Presentation (Friday, April 1, 2022) 

Finalists who advance from the second round will present their research at the 7th Annual Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Event on Friday, April 1, 2022. In addition, finalists will be filmed and videos will be posted on the Graduate College YouTube channel. Inspiration, Innovation, Impact presenters will be awarded a $1,500 scholarship.


Recaps from Past Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Events

2021 2019 2018
2021 Presenters

Jacqueline Phan, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

George W. Kajjumba, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering and Construction

Deena DeVore, Department of Criminal Justice

Aldo Barrita, Department of Psychology

Heather Rappaport, Department of Educational Psychology & Higher Education

2021 Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Presentations

2019 Presenters

Sarah V. McCarthy, Department of Early Childhood, Multilingual, and Special Education

Michael Isaacs, School of Life Sciences

John Olawepo, School of Public Health

Jennifer M. Stevens, Department of Sociology

2019 Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Photos

2018 Presenters

Beth Ok Kyung Wi, William F. Harrah College of Hospitality/Lee Business School

Dafne Zenice Guevara, School of Music

Maria Ramos Gonzalez, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Shon Reed, Department of Criminal Justice

Brenda Tena, School of Architecture

Nick Macmurray, Department of Sociology

2018 Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Photos

2017 2016 2015
2017 Presenters

Breanna Boppre, Department of Criminal Justice Nasko Balakchiev, School of Architecture

Adam Betemedhin, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Alicia Crespin, School of Life Sciences

Wynn Tashman, William S. Boyd School of Law/Department of Educational Psychology and Higher Education

Austin McKenna, School of Life Sciences

2017 Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Photos

2016 Presenters

Kristyne Wiegand, School of Allied Health Sciences Daniel Mast, School of Life Sciences

Karli Nave, College of Liberal Arts

Nicole Santero, Greenspun College of Urban Affairs

Christina Vanden Bosch der Nederlanden, College of Liberal Arts

Henry Castillo, Greenspun College of Urban Affairs

Shelly Volsche, College of Liberal Arts

2016 Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Photos

2015 Presenters

Kaiyang Wu, College of Hotel Administration/Lee Business School

Jessica Nave-Blodgett, Department of Psychology

Surbhi Sharma, School of Life Sciences

Katelyn DiBenedetto, Department of Anthropology

Amber Bonasso, College of Fine Arts

Jack Lafferty, College of Fine Arts

Christopher Hardy, School of Life Sciences

2015 Inspiration, Innovation, Impact Photos