The Faculty Senate Constitution stipulates that each unit shall have one senator designated as the senior senator. The senior senator is defined as the person with the least time remaining in a current three-year term, or the person with most seniority. If there is more than one such person in a unit, the senators in question will draw lots to determine seniority.

Appendix 2 of the Faculty Senate Bylaws further defines the role and responsibilities of the senior senator including elections & nominations, communication with other senators, and communication with constituents. Senior senators should also be in regular contact with their deans and, when possible, invited to meetings of the college’s executive committee.

The Chair of the Faculty Senate meets monthly with senior senators to discuss any issues coming from the units and to preview issues on which the chair and the senate would like to solicit input from the units.

Senior Senators: 2022-2023

Administrative Faculty
Amy Carito
At Large
Lee School of Business

Ian McDonough
Ian.mcdonough@unlv.edu

School of Dental Medicine
Fiona Britton
College of Education

Josh Baker
josh.baker@unlv.edu

College of Engineering

Neil Opfer
neil.opfer@unlv.edu

College of Fine Arts
Deborah Oakley

deborah.oakley@unlv.edu

Division of Health Sciences

Max Gakh
maxim.gakh@unlv.edu

Honors College

Bryan Blankfield
bryan.blankfield@unlv.edu

College of Hospitality
Bobbie Barnes

bobbie.barnes@unlv.edu

College of Liberal Arts
Debbie Arteaga

deborah.arteaga@unlv.edu

University Libraries

Samantha Godbey
samantha.godbey@unlv.edu

William S. Boyd School of Law

Michael Kagan
Michael.kagan@unlv.edu

School of Medicine

Funmi Okuyemi
oluwafunmilola.okuyemi@unlv.edu

College of Sciences

Jennifer Guerra
jennifer.guerra@unlv.edu

College of Urban Affairs

Gary Larson
gary.larson@unlv.edu