Harry Reid Silver State Research Award

The prestigious Harry Reid Silver State Research Award was created in 2001 to honor longtime Nevada Senator Harry Reid and to recognize faculty who have performed research that is both highly regarded and responsive to the needs of the community and state. The award carries a $10,000 stipend.

The award is open to full-time tenured faculty members who are engaged in significant research that meets one or more of the following criteria:

  • Directly and positively affects the economic growth and development of Nevada;
  • Addresses a pressing social need in the community and/or region;
  • Demonstrably advances significant scholarship in an academic field of knowledge.

This award is presented by the President at the annual Faculty Recognition Ceremony held in the Spring.

The call for nominations is announced in the winter each year. For more information, contact Althea Sheets, Communications Manager, althea.sheets@unlv.edu, 702-895-1880.

Call for Nominations and Application Process List of Past Recipients

2020 Recipient

A man looking off to the side.

Francis Cucinotta

Department of Health Physics and Diagnostic Sciences
School of Integrated Health Sciences

Professor Cucinotta’s areas of research include radiobiology, radiation and nuclear physics, and biophysics with over 370 peer reviewed publications that have been cited over 20,000 times. He is an internationally recognized expert in the health risks of radiation on Earth and in space, with contributions that have been recognized in reports of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements. His research benefits cancer patients undergoing radiation therapy, radiation workers, including astronauts exposed to cosmic rays.