This award is given annually to honor a chair/director who epitomizes the highest levels of excellence in pursuit of the unit’s mission and strategic goals. Winners are announced at the annual Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony in the spring. The award is administered by the Office of Faculty Affairs.

2024 Recipient

Headshot of Joseph Morgan

Joseph Morgan
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Early Childhood, Multilingual, and Special Education
College of Education

Dr. Morgan is being recognized for his strong leadership skills, effective administration, outstanding interpersonal communication, and collegiality. He has contributed to a positive trajectory of department metrics that include a focus on increasing enrollments, improving completion rates, and supporting access to higher education through innovative educator preparation programs. “The word ‘outstanding’ perfectly describes Dr. Morgan’s accomplishments and work as a department chair,” said his nominator.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Unit
2023 Rajiv Kishore Department of Management, Entrepreneurship, and Technology (MET)
2022 Sajjad Ahmad Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction
2021 Zhijian Wu Department of Mathematical Sciences
2020 Chris Kearney Department of Psychology
2019 Robert Futrell Department of Sociology
2018 Barbara Roth Department of Anthropology
2017 Merrill Landers Department of Physical Therapy
2016 Paulette Tandy Department of Accounting
2015 Joel Lieberman Department of Criminal Justice
2014 Gillian Galbraith Department of Biomedical Studies
2013 John Tuman Department of Political Science

2023 Selection Committee