All projects start at development status, which is where you should build and thoroughly test the project. The project is fully functional, and you can use all of the REDCap facilities to modify and check the project, such as sending out survey invitations and downloading the response data. You should only collect or enter test data while in this status.
While a project is in development status, be sure to test every phase of your project before you move it to the next level (production status) and collect “real” data. After a project is moved to production status, it is more challenging to make changes to the project.
After you have created, modified, and thoroughly tested your project, and you are ready to collect or enter “real” data, you should move it to production status. This can be done by selecting the “Move Project to Production” button located on the "Project Setup" tab in REDCap.
Important: When you move the project to production status, you will be given the option of deleting all data that has been collected to that point. This option is provided because you usually would have only been collecting test data in development status. If that is the case, you would typically want to delete all that test data before collecting real data.
If your project is in production status and you are finished using it, you may shut it down and take it offline by moving it to inactive status. To do so, select the “Move to an Inactive Status” button on the "Other Functionality" tab in REDCap.
Once a project is inactive, no responses can be entered or collected. Anyone trying to take a survey will be informed that the survey is no longer active. An inactive project may be brought back to production status by selecting the “move project to production" button, located on the "Other Functionality" tab.
If you wish to remove a project from your account, you can archive it. After it is archived, you will no longer have access to the project, including its data. To archive a project, select the “Archive the Project” button located on the "Other Functionality" tab.
A project (including all its data) may also be deleted by selecting the "Delete the Project" button, located on the "Other Functionality" tab. Deletion is permanent, and a deleted project cannot be retrieved.