Radiological Studies Initiative

The Radiological Studies Initiative at the HRC promotes fundamental and applied studies involving radioelements, radioisotopes, radioactive decay, and nuclear and radiation interactions. The initiative encompasses both research and educational activities designed to develop the next generation of nuclear experts.

The initiative will be a center of excellence, fostering core interdisciplinary research and education collaborations across campus and with outside entities, including other universities, national laboratories, government agencies, international researchers, and industrial partners.

The Radiological Studies Initiative is consistent with the university’s interest in promoting interdisciplinary research through the CoRE initiative. Integrating activities in engineering, science, health, and policy, the initiative will strive to provide an educational pipeline and to stimulate economic development by providing a well-trained workforce in all areas involving radiation, radioactive decay, radioisotopes, and nuclear reactions.

Anticipated initial educational and research activities will cover the nuclear fuel cycle and advanced energy systems, nuclear security, nuclear medicine, radiation detection, nuclear reactions, and environmental radiochemistry.

The initiative is being led by the interim director, Ken Czerwinski.

Steering Committee

A steering committee (listed below), including faculty across multiple colleges, the relevant deans, and external constituents, will work to establish goals and structure.

The Steering Committee members include the following:

  • Dr. Ken Czerwinski (Chemistry)
  • Dr. Alexander Barzilov (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Dr. Ralf Sudowe (Health Physics)
  • Dr. David Hatchett (Chemistry)
  • Dr. Charlotta Sanders (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Dr. Dennis Pirages (Political Science)
  • Dr. Eric Machorro (National Security Technologies - NSTec)