UNLV Cheerleaders on the floor dancing at the Thomas and Mack Center

Rebel Applause

Rebel Applause logo

Rebel Applause is UNLV’s employee recognition platform that allows colleagues to send notes of gratitude to one another for a job well done and for exemplifying our Campus Values:

  • Access & Equity
  • Excellence & Integrity
  • Compassion & Inclusion
  • Collaboration & Stewardship

All job classifications (administrative and academic faculty, classified staff, postdoctoral scholars, letter of appointments, and medical and dental residents) are eligible to give and receive recognition through Rebel Applause.

Service Milestone Awards

Academic faculty, administrative faculty, and classified staff receive monetary awards redeemable only on Amazon Business through the Rebel Applause platform for reaching distinct service milestones.

Years of service are determined using the first day of employment at UNLV according to Workday without breaks in service. Please note that if there is a break in service at UNLV, the company service date resets. The passage of Assembly Bill 522 instituted longevity pay for certain state employees starting at eight years of continuous service. Service milestones up to five years of service are awarded in the form of REBEL Applause monetary points at the following marks:

For more information about Rebel Applause, email hr@unlv.edu.

Rebel Spirit Award

The Rebel Spirit Award recognizes UNLV employees who demonstrate our campus values.


All UNLV employees regardless of job classification are eligible for the Rebel Spirit Award.

Program Overview

The Rebel Spirit Award is distributed quarterly in January, April, July, and October. Recipients are chosen by the Rebel Spirit Award committee and are based on the quality and quantity of recognitions they receive in Rebel Applause. After selecting the recipient for the quarter, the Rebel Spirit Award committee notifies the recipient’s supervisor to coordinate how/when the award is presented.

Rebel Spirit Award recipients receive:

  • A certificate of appreciation award signed by the Executive Vice President and Provost
  • A UNLV campus values-branded tumbler
  • Recognition in UNLV Today


Committee Partner
  • Ericka Smith, Vice President for Human Resources & Chief People Officer
Committee Members
  • Jared Christensen, Assistant Vice President and Executive Director for Human Resource Business Partners
  • Jill Zimbelman, Assistant Director, Office of Research Integrity
  • Nancy Uscher, Dean, College of Fine Arts

Past Recipients

1st Quarter
  • Jose Montalto
  • Jose Navarro
  • Josie Boyle
  • Mary Vance
  • Tomeisha Davis

1st Quarter
  • Arianne Yago
  • Bob Soulliere
  • John Nicpon
  • Megan Black
  • Nicole Hudson
2nd Quarter
  • Kaytie Hackett
  • Barbara Blue
  • Tansy Rabijahed
  • Mersina Swearinger
  • Nicole Johnson
3rd Quarter
  • Jacob House
  • Yvette Aqui
  • Derek Jones
  • Luciana Yeh
  • Michele Padilla
4th Quarter
  • Alethea Inns
  • Kimberly Lintz
  • Ginger Garcia
  • Maria Jerinic-Pravica
  • Vaune Kudlubek

  • Joe Sly
  • Michelle Anderson
  • Mary Yedinak
  • Isabelle Johnson
  • Yuko Shinozaki
  • Beth DeBouck
  • Kirsten Connelly
  • Young Kim
  • Lucas Graff
  • Mehmet Erdem
  • Kim Ensigne


  • Kimberly Miller


  • Miles Boulton
  • Yaa Oberg
  • Rosemary Le
  • Deana Wilson
  • Juan Lino
  • Sam Fugazzotto
  • Chinam Seto
  • Deana Waddell
  • Sherry Marks
  • Amy Carito
  • Lauren Calise
  • Deb Powell
  • Carla Zimmerman

  • Ashley Stone
  • Joy Ramior
  • Jerra Strong
  • Nadine Bentis
  • Ashley Weckesser
  • Leslie Rafaovich
  • Staci Bueno
  • Lisa Jacob
  • Gail Griffin
  • Abigail Wood
  • Rosita Chapman
  • Lori Ciccone
  • Laura Anders
  • Stephanie Page
  • Alexandra Nikolich
  • Joan Beneduce
  • Kim Nelms
  • Misty Valentin

  • Rebecca Paulson
  • Isabelle Johnson
  • Elaine Anderson
  • Ge Kan

  • Eric Knight
  • Erika Nolte
  • Valerie Solerno
  • Kevin Bergeron
  • Jamilah Brewington
  • Heather Rappaport
  • Alecia Stacey
  • Jennifer Drennan
  • Erin Azua
  • Tonya Kemble
  • Eva Perez
  • Heather Sedlacek
  • Gloria Garcia
  • Brenda Guerra
  • Arturo Baltazar
  • Angela Martinez
  • Stephen Valine
  • Flora Phipps
  • Michelle Fearnley
  • Jill Zimbelman
  • Carisa Shaffer
  • Cate Weeks
  • Grant Kurosu
  • Katelyn Dibenedetto
  • Michelle Tomasino
  • Anna Toma
  • Abigail Wood
  • Alberto de Salvatierra
  • Dan Gianoutsos
  • Hallie Lyons
  • Hannah Doss
  • Jared Lau
  • Judith Paulson
  • Oriaku Kas-Osoka
  • Susie Skarl
  • Tricia McCrory
  • Nadia Pormirleanu
  • Sonia Taylor
  • Chad Phillips
  • Kenneth Hughes