Dr. Katherine M. Hertlein, Program Director and Associate Professor, was awarded both the Barrick Scholar Award in 2014 and the Regent's Rising Researcher Award in 2014. The Barrick Award is designed to recognize faculty members who have established a record of distinguished research or have demonstrated excellence in the area of creative activity. This award is based principally on the quality and quantity of research publication or creative activity, which is judged to be extraordinary and distinguished. Only full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty who have completed at least three years of full-time employment at UNLV prior to the application deadline are eligible for these awards. The award is presented to faculty members with fewer than 10 years of service in an academic environment after the terminal degree, carries a $2,500 stipend. The Rising Researcher Award is presented annually to one Nevada System of Higher Education faculty member from UNLV, UNR, and Desert Research Institute. Awards are based on early-career accomplishments and potential for future advancement and recognition in research. Dr. Hertlein is the first female to have won both of these awards, and the only person to have won both the same year. Congratulations, Dr. Hertlein!

Each year, the faculty recognizes graduate students who have performed in an outstanding manner in their work as clinicians, researchers, and service providers. These students are recognized at the annual Greenspun College of Urban Affairs Award Ceremony. Our winners include:

  • 2017 Excellence in MFT Independent Research Award: Skyler Roper
  • 2017 Excellence in MFT Service Award: Sarah Hechter
  • 2017 Excellence in MFT Clinical Practice Award: Sarah Scott
  • 2017 Excellence in MFT Collaborative Research Award: Mary Phenix
  • 2014 Excellence in MFT Independent Research Award: Sheala Morrison
  • 2014 Excellence in MFT Collaboration Research Award: Ericka Hulbert
  • 2014 Excellence in MFT Practice Award: Joshua Sillitoe

The GPSA allocates funds for graduate and professional research for travel. This award supports projects that directly affect a student's degree program. Some of the past MFT student recipients have included: Shelley Sendak, Armeda Stevenson, Justin Smith, Katie Infante, and Rebecca Nemecek.

The GPSA holds a Research Forum for graduate students to share their research each year. In 2011, UNLV MFT student, Rebecca Nemecek, received an honorable mention at the UNLV GPSA Research Forum in the Social and Health Sciences Platform for her research that focused on counseling the unemployed.

In 2011, UNLV MFT student, Rebecca Nemecek, placed third in the GCUA Graduate Research Symposium for her research which focused on counseling the unemployed.

In 2012, UNLV MFT student, Nicole Thomte, was the primary recipient of an Outstanding Paper Award from the NCFR Education and Enrichment Section. Her co-recipients included UNLV MFT faculty member, Dr. Markie Blumer., and Dr. Mary Sue Green and MFT student, Parris M. Green, both of Texas Woman's University. Their award-winning work focused on addressing heterosexual and gender conforming privileges in college classrooms.

We have had many wonderful students win national awards! Lawrence Jackson has been awarded an AAMFT Minority Scholarship. Jacent Wamala has been awarded the Bill T. Jones Scholarship offered through AASECT. We are proud to have these qualified and talented students call our program home.

  • 2017 MFT Alumni Award: Richard and Roberta Vande Voort