This award honors employees for outstanding contributions to UNLV and its mission to be a top tier university. While everyone associated with UNLV works toward fulfilling our mission, the efforts of some individuals present an outstanding example of commitment. The Top Tier Award recognizes such dedicated members of our campus community. This award is administered by the Office of Faculty Affairs.

Additional information about the Top Tier plan, including detailed metrics and measures, can be found on the UNLV Top Tier website.

2022 Recipients

Keith Lawler

Keith Lawler
Assistant Research Professor, College of Sciences

Dr. Lawler has demonstrated support and commitment to the Top Tier goals of the university through his research in the UNLV Nevada Extreme Conditions Lab. “His dedication to producing high-end science, and to ensuring that students leave UNLV with a complete and potent scientific toolset, is admirable and worthy of recognition,” said his nominator. 

"Our discovery of the first room-temperature superconducting material is recognized as one of the biggest scientific achievements in the past few years," said Dr. Lawler. "It has helped shine an international spotlight on the great research being done here at UNLV."  To impact the impact of that discovery, he said the Nevada Extreme Conditions Laboratory was established to turn UNLV and Southern Nevada into an international hub for energy and climate innovation.

Rian Satterwhite

Rian Satterwhite
Director of the Office of Service Learning and Leadership

Rian Satterwhite demonstrates support and commitment to Community Partnerships. He has raised more than $500,000 in grants and gifts over the past two years, and has established community partnerships with more than 40 organizations. Rian believes such partnerships have helped him and his colleagues in their work to engage, retain, and graduate UNLV students, as well as support vulnerable student populations.

Rian is a leadership scholar whose interests include complex problems, systems thinking, distributed capacity building, and critical social theory. 

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Unit
2021 Tricia McCrory Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost
2021 Caitlin Saladino Brookings Mountain West & The Lincy Institute
2020 Jennifer Heath College of Liberal Arts
2019 Allen Gibbs School of Life Sciences
2019 Stacey Tovino William S. Boyd School of Law
2018 Kwang Kim Department of Mechanical Engineering
2018 Jefferson Kinney Department of Psychology
2018 Alisha Kerlin Barrick Museum of Art

2022 Selection Committee Members