This annual award program was established to recognize individuals who have achieved excellence in the scholarship of teaching and learning as demonstrated through research that focuses on evidence-based teaching practices that promote UNLV students’ learning. The award recipient will receive a $2000 award and will be recognized at the UNLV Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony in April. The award is administered through the UNLV Faculty Center.

2022 Recipient


Anjala Krishen, Ph.D.
Director, MBA Programs and Professor, LEE Business School

Anjala Krishen is a Professor and Director of MBA Programs in the Department of Marketing & International Business in the Lee Business School. Dr. Krishen has a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Rice University, and an M.S. Marketing, MBA, and Ph.D. from Virginia Tech and has published over 70 peer-reviewed papers in journals. She began research on teaching and learning with studies on creativity and motivation in the classroom. Her findings show that student creativity enhances group motivation. A related stream of pedagogical research shows there are benefits to an intersectional, diverse, and inclusive knowledge creation framework.

Krishen has graciously agreed to share her award packet as an example of a winning submission. Please contact the Faculty Center to obtain a copy.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Unit Award Packet Available
2021 Margarita “Maggie” Huerta

Early Childhood, Multilingual, and Special Education

2020 Kaitlin Clinnin Department of English Yes
2019 Lori Johnson William S. Boyd School of Law No

Those award recipients who have agreed to share copies of their award packets are indicated in the Award Packet Available column. Please contact the Faculty Center to obtain a copy.

Selection Committee Members, 2022