Sandhya Wahi-Gururaj

Health, Wellness and Recreation Home » Staff Directory

Sandhya Wahi-Gururaj, MD

Associate Professor, Department of Internal Medicine



Dr. Sandhya Wahi-Gururaj is a board certified general internist and currently serves as the internal medicine residency program director and an associate professor of internal medicine. She is a graduate of the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine and the Boston University School of Public Health. She completed her internal medicine residency, chief residency, and general internal medicine fellowship at the Boston University Medical Center. Dr. Wahi is a diplomat of the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Dr. Wahi has been in medical education for over 15 years. She was previously an associate program director and associate internal medicine clerkship director at the VA for the Boston University School of Medicine. Prior to transitioning to the UNLV SOM she was program director for over 9 years at the University of Nevada Reno (UNR) School of Medicine. During her tenure as program director, Dr. Wahi has increased the size of the categorical internal medicine program by 60% and has been instrumental in the creation and accreditation of 3 new subspecialty fellowships. Dr. Wahi is also experienced in undergraduate medical education, previously serving as a medicine clerkship director, serves as a ward and clinic preceptor, and an instructor in epidemiology and biostatistics. Dr. Wahi regularly presents faculty development sessions at national and international meetings, has served multiple times as an expert for the NEJM Resident 360 discussions, and peer reviews for the Journal of Graduate Medical Education. She is a member of the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine, serving on the Survey and Scholarship Committee since 2010. Dr. Wahi has served as the Nevada Chapter American College of Physician’s program planning chair for the past 6 years. She is a recipient of multiple awards including the NV ACP’s Chapter Laureate Award, Women Physician of the Year in 2017, and is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society.