UNLV's Center for Mathematics, Science, and Engineering Education (CMSEE) is a collaborative venture between the Colleges of Sciences, Education, and Engineering to strengthen the collaborative grantsmanship activities in STEM Education at the institution. The center is comprised of faculty who are dedicated to improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) teaching and learning. As its primary mission, the center encourages cooperation among the three partners, emphasizes research, supports externally funded projects, and serves as a focal point for communication and collaboration with the Clark County School District's STEM efforts. The center is advised by a diverse board, including the deans from the three colleges, the vice president of research and graduate studies, and a representative from the Clark County School District.


Aligned with UNLV's Top Tier goals, CMSEE strives to:

  • Strengthen the collaborative grant activities in STEM education at UNLV
  • Increase capacity to improve undergraduate STEM education at UNLV
  • Provide leadership in K-12 STEM education regionally and nationally


In fall 2004, UNLV initiated a Center for Mathematics and Science Education (CMSE). Conceived as a collaborative venture among faculty from the College of Sciences, the College of Education, and mathematics and science leadership personnel from the Clark County School District, the center served as a conduit for communication between the partners, with special attention paid to externally funded projects. Founding co-directors were John Farley (Professor, Department of Physics, College of Sciences) and William Speer (Professor, Department of Curriculum & Instruction, College of Education).

In 2011, the College of Engineering joined the center and the name was changed to reflect the representation of three colleges. The new structure and name change was approved by the NSHE Board of Regents effective Jan. 1, 2012. Co-Directors named in January 2012 represent each of the three colleges: Dr. John Farley continued to represent the College of Sciences, while joined by Janelle Bailey (Assistant Professor, Department of Teaching & Learning, College of Education) and Brendan O'Toole (Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering).

Advisory Committee

Danica G. Hays, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Education
Headshot of Danica Hays
Office: CEB 301
Mail Code: 3001
Phone: 702-895-3890

Rama Venkat, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Engineering
Rama Venkat
Mail Code: 4005
Phone: 702-895-1094

Eric L. Chronister, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Sciences
Eric L. Chronister
Mail Code: 4001
Phone: 702-895-3487