Department of Kinesiology and Nutrition Sciences

Kinesiology

Students enrolled in the kinesiology degree programs discover, apply, and advance knowledge of physical activity as it relates to physical fitness, health, and performance. Department faculty develop and support academic programs and research that focus on injury prevention and rehabilitation, maintenance and improvement of physical fitness, wellness and performance, and factors governing human movement. The degree programs are designed to prepare students for a variety of career possibilities and success in their future educational pursuits.

Academic Programs  Faculty/Staff  Contact

Academic Programs

Kinesiology

The degree programs in kinesiology focus on the study of human performance. Students will study foundational sciences, such as anatomical kinesiology, biomechanics, exercise physiology, motor behavior, and the social psychology of physical activity. Graduate degrees are designed to provide theoretical foundations of the movement-based sciences.

Contact an Advisor »


Faculty/Staff

Audrey Coffee

Administrative Assistant IV

Office: BHS 319
Mail Code: 3026
Fax: 702-895-2616
Email: audrey.coffee@unlv.edu

Wanda DeCorte

Administrative Assistant III

Office: BHS 319
Mail Code: 3034
Fax: 702-895-2616
Email: wanda.decorte@unlv.edu

Janet S. Dufek, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Ph.D. Graduate Coordinator

Office: BHS 338
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-0702
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: janet.dufek@unlv.edu

Mark Guadagnoli, Ph.D.

Professor
Director, Motor Behavior Laboratory
M.S. Graduate Coordinator

Office: BHS 340
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-4624
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: mark.guadagnoli@unlv.edu

Sharon Jalene

Visiting Lecturer

Office: BHS 341
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-3946
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: jalene1@unlv.nevada.edu

Monica Lounsbery, Ph.D.

Professor and Director
Physical Activity Policy Research Program

Office: FDH 709
Mail Code: 1014
Phone: 702-895-4629
Fax: 702-895-3455
Email: monica.lounsbery@unlv.edu
More about Monica Lounsbery »

James W. Navalta, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: BHS 334
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-2344
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: james.navalta@unlv.edu

Antonio (Tony) Santo, Ph.D., RD, CSSD

Assistant Professor

Office: BHS 336
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-5329
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: antonio.santo@unlv.edu

Richard (Dick) D. Tandy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair

Office: BHS 329
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-5080
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: dick.tandy@unlv.edu

Gabriele Wulf, Ph.D.

Professor
Director, Motor Performance and Learning Laboratory

Office: BHS 326
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-0938
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: gabriele.wulf@unlv.edu

John (Jack) C. Young, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BHS 332
Mail Code: 3034
Phone: 702-895-4626
Fax: 702-895-1500
Email: jack.young@unlv.edu

Contact

 Mailing Address

University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Department of Kinesiology and Nutrition Sciences
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 453034
Las Vegas, NV 89154-3034

 Phone

702-895-0996

 Fax

702-895-1500

 Email

kinesiology@unlv.edu

 Campus Location

Bigelow Health Sciences (BHS), Room 319

Office Hours

8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday

Produced by UNLV Web Communications | © 2014 University of Nevada, Las Vegas Website Feedback