NWCCU Accreditation Process

UNLV is accredited and to retain its accreditation, it participates in a schedule of accreditation-related activities known as the seven-year cycle. UNLV also has the constant obligation to abide by the Eligibility Requirements, Standards, and Policies of NWCCU.

These activities include:

  • A yearly institutional update report;
  • Scheduled self-study reports in the first, third, and seventh year of the institution’s cycle;
  • Any additional reports requested by the Board of Commissioners; and,
  • Reporting any changes that fall under the Commission’s Substantive Change Policy.

Throughout the seven-year cycle, every institution is reviewed by NWCCU staff, teams of peer evaluators, and the Board of Commissioners in order to be sure that the institution is improving any problem areas, is still an effective school, offers a high-quality education, and is working to fulfill its mission.

The process of becoming and staying accredited is explained in much more detail in the Accreditation Handbook. The Accreditation Handbook is available on the NWCCU website.

UNLV seven year cycle reports and year due:

  • Standard One: Mission, Core Themes, and Expectations, 2019
  • Standard Two: Resources and Capacity, 2022
  • Standard Three: Planning and Implementation, 2025
  • Standard Four: Effectiveness and Improvement, 2025
  • Standard Five: Mission Fulfillment, Adaptation, and Sustainability, 2025



There are five standards for accreditation in the seven-year cycle. In year one, Standard One is addressed, Standard Two in the md-cycle, Standards Three through 5 in year seven.

  • Standard One: Mission, Core Themes, and Expectations
  • Standard Two: Resources and Capacity
  • Standard Three: Planning and Implementation
  • Standard Four: Effectiveness and Improvement
  • Standard Five: Mission Fulfillment, Adaptation, and Sustainability