You are here

communication studies Accomplishments

Aug 16, 2017
Erika Engstrom (Communication Studies) presented "Positive Disruption: Gender, Popular Communication, and the Growth Mindset" at the annual meeting of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication held in Chicago in August. Her presentation addressed the use of disruption in teaching feminist concepts and making students aware of gender inequality in a range of mass media forms in order to encourage growth mindedness.

Jul 24, 2017
Donovan Conley (Communication Studies), Janet Dufek (Kinesiology and Nutrition Sciences), and Jennifer Rennels (Psychology) have been named Graduate Faculty Fellows for the 2017-18 academic year. The Graduate Faculty Fellows Program allows UNLV faculty and the Graduate College to work together on projects each academic year. The program brings faculty expertise and insight into the Graduate College as well as builds and sustains close relationships between the college and the departments and programs it serves. Congratulations to this year’s fellows, who will begin their one-year appointment in August.

May 2, 2017
Larissa Terán (Communication Studies), Jonathan Birds, Anna Caputo, Rich Easter, Rosa Rosas, and Mark Sakurada (all Public Policy and Leadership) received honors at the 8th annual Greenspun College of Urban Affairs' (GCUA) Graduate Research Symposium in April. The symposium offers graduate students in GCUA the opportunity to present their research to the college, UNLV, and the community at large. Judges for the event were Robert Ulmer, GCUA dean; Chris Heavey, dean of the College of Liberal Arts; and Kendall Hartley, associate dean of the Graduate College. The graduate student research awardees are: 1st Place: Larissa Terán, department of communication studies 2nd Place: Jonathan Birds, School of Public Policy and Leadership 3rd Place: Anna Caputo, Rich Easter, Rosa Rosas, and Mark Sakurada, School of Public Policy and Leadership    

Apr 18, 2017
Jennifer Guthrie (Communication Studies) and Adrianne Kunkel of the University of Kansas were awarded the 2016 B. Aubrey Fisher Outstanding Journal Article Award from the Western States Communication Association for their article, "Survivor: Women's Stories of Navigation and Tensions in a Domestic Violence Shelter."

Apr 4, 2017
Erika Engstrom (Communication Studies) is the author of Feminism, Gender, and Politics in NBC's Parks and Recreation, which just has been published (Peter Lang, New York). This book analyzes the various ways the series presented feminism as a positive force, such as the satirical portrayal of patriarchy; alternative depictions of masculinity; the feminist ideology and political career of main character Leslie Knope; the inclusion of actual political figures; and depictions of love and romance as related to feminism.

Apr 3, 2017
The UNLV Debate Team celebrated its second consecutive year advancing to the elimination rounds of the National Debate Tournament (NDT). The NDT is the most prestigious and challenging collegiate debate tournament in America. This year two individual UNLV teams advanced to the elimination rounds of the NDT — a first for the program. The UNLV Debate Team also had three individual teams compete in the Cross Examination Debate Association (CEDA) National Championship Tournament. At the CEDA National Championship tournament, UNLV debaters Christian Ogata and Jerrell Berrios advanced to the Sweet 16 elimination round and were named to the CEDA All-American Debate Squad.  Learn more about UNLV's award-winning debate team.  

Jun 25, 2015
Donovan Conley (Communication Studies) and some colleagues from the University of Colorado, Denver, Stephen Hartnett, Lisa Keranen, and Patrick Dodge, gave research talks to graduate students working in the areas of communication and cultural studies at Shenzhen University, China earlier this month. His talk was titled "Objects in Mirror are Closer Than They Appear: The Paradoxes of Communicating 'Development.'"

Dec 1, 2014
Erika Engstrom (Communication Studies) presented "'Let Us Plan Your Happily Ever After': Disney's Princess Brides in the Wedding Utopia" at the Midwest Popular and American Culture Association's annual conference in Indianapolis. This research explores the implications of Disney's fairy tale weddings and the place of the "princess bride" in a post-feminist, female-targeted media milieu.

Nov 1, 2014
Joseph Rhodes (Honors and Communication Studies), along with Nathan Crick (Texas A&M University), co-authored a lead essay in the journal Rhetoric Review. "Death and Eloquence" explores the relationship in Homer's Iliad between coming close to death and delivering eloquent speeches. Crick and Rhodes argue that only those Homeric heroes capable of understanding mortality at a deeper level are truly able to reach the heights of beautiful speech.

Nov 1, 2014
David Schwartz (Center for Gaming Research) and 10 graduates of the Greenspun School of Journalism and Media Studies or School of Communications won awards in this year's Nevada Press Association contest. Schwartz's awards came for his work in Vegas Seven magazine. He was recognized in the Best Local Column category for his bi-weekly "Green Felt Journal" and in the Best Feature Story category for "The Book That Tried to End Vegas," a look back on the 50th anniversary of the publication of Ed Reid and Ovid Demaris' The Green felt Jungle. Among the top honors claimed by the 10 UNLV alums was the Journalist of Merit prize for Urban Weeklies for Mark Adams at Las Vegas Weekly. A first-place winner was feature writer Michael Lyle at the Review-Journal, who also received second- and third-place honors for his writing in the RJ's View section. He is now a reporter for the RJ Living section. Other grads who took honors (some with multiple prizes) include Caitlyn Belcher, Ray Brewer, Glenn Cook, Sean DeFrank, Jack Johnson, Jorge Labrador, Valerie Miller, and PJ Perez. The Boulder City Review won the General Excellence Award for community newspapers in the past year when Arnold Knightly was editor and Jack Johnson was the reporter. Steven Slivka is the reporter there now. The awards were presented at the association's annual ceremony Sept. 20.