UNLV College of Engineering Announces the Winners of the Mendenhall Faculty Competition

May. 17, 2011

LAS VEGAS — This semester, the College of Engineering hosted its first Mendenhall Faculty Competition. Organized by the Electrical and Computer Engineering chair, Dr. Henry Selvaraj, the competition consisted of presentations by five faculty members. The educational modules which they had developed were displayed on May 11th and May 16, 2011. The undergraduate coordinators of all the four departments (ECE was represented by Dr Latifi) and four student representatives (one each from CE, CS, ECE and DE) acted as judges. Dr Latifi chaired the panel of judges. All the five modules presented were meritorious and will be very useful in teaching various engineering and computer science courses. The modules received the following awards:

  • First prize ($10,000): Dr Venkatesan Muthukumar, "Processing Engineers: An Instructional Module for Hardware-Software Interface Design Development for Engineers."
  • Second prize ($5,000 each): Dr Laxmi Gewali, "A Pedagogical Module for Visualization and Animation of Data Structures and Algorithms."Dr. Brendan O'Toole, "Dynamic Sysytems Learning Aid Modules."
  • Special Recognition ($1,000 each): Dr. John Wang, "Fractoluminescence – A Course Module for ME301 Structure and Properties of Solids and ME 302 Mechanics of Materials." Dr Yingtao Jiang, "An Open Platform Design Kit (PDK) for Multimedia-rich Hardware and Software Development."

The Dean congratulates all of the winners and participants. Dr. Selvaraj has successfully implemented a new annual event for the college. Thanks to the staffs of the various departments/chairs/and directors for their cooperation in organizing the process. Special thanks to the panel of judges for their hard work.