UNLV and Beasley Media Group to Announce Media Innovation Hackathon Winners at CES 2019

Hackathon flyer
Dec. 6, 2018

Beasley Media Group and the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, will announce the winners of their inaugural Media Innovation Hackathon at the 2019 CES (Consumer Electronics Show).

“These cutting-edge and promising student projects embody the spirit of the new partnership between UNLV and Beasley Media Group,” said Zach Miles, UNLV associate vice president of economic development. “We’re thrilled to share them and showcase the results of this competition on innovation’s global stage at CES 2019 for the best in the tech world to see.”

“Innovation is a core value of Beasley Media,” said Buzz Knight, Beasley Media Group executive vice president of strategy and innovation. “CES is a perfect place for us to announce the winners. We look forward to the outside thinking that the teams at UNLV will bring.”

Beasley Media Group and UNLV first announced the Media Innovation Hackathon joint initiative in September. The focus of the hackathon is the generation of commercially viable products and services that utilize existing media technology, data, and infrastructure as well as the ideation of cutting-edge, transformative, and disruptive technologies that will become mainstream in the next 20 years.

Student teams have been hard at work conceptualizing their visions of media innovation and are preparing to formally present their ideas to a panel of judges consisting of executive leadership from Beasley and UNLV later this month.

The final results will be shared at an awards ceremony held at CES 2019 at 2 p.m. on Thursday, January 10 at the UNLV Office of Economic Development booth located in Eureka Park (Booth 51765, located on Level 1 of Hall G inside the Sands Expo).

The top three teams will be awarded the following cash prizes:

  • 1st place: $5,000
  • 2nd place: $2,500
  • 3rd place: $1,000

Beasley Media Group and UNLV may issue up to three more research and development awards, enabling one or more of the top three teams to receive additional funding to develop their winning innovation into a commercially viable product.