Two UNLV Nursing Professors Honored for Contributions to Healthcare Profession

Jun. 27, 2019

UNLV associate professors June Cho and Jay Tan selected as 2019 fellows of the American Academy of Nursing.

Two UNLV nursing professors were recently selected as fellows of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN) for their extensive contributions to the field and for advancing health policy and practice.

June Cho and Jay Tan were among 231 distinguished nurse leaders selected for the 2019 class of AAN fellows, which is considered by many the highest honor in nursing.

AAN fellows are nursing leaders in education, management, practice and research. They represent executives, university presidents, chancellors and deans; elected officials; hospital executives; and researchers and entrepreneurs.

“Invitation to fellowship is more than recognition of one’s accomplishments within the nursing profession,” said AAN fellow Angela Amar, dean and professor of nursing at UNLV. “AAN fellows have a responsibility to contribute their time and energy to engage with health leaders locally and nationwide to positively transform America’s health system.”

Cho joined UNLV in 2018 and has more than 20 years of teaching, research, and clinical experience at universities in the U.S. and South Korea. She has expertise in pediatric nursing and with informatics and applied statistics in the nursing profession.

Tan is a longtime UNLV professor whose research focuses on training for internationally educated nurses and the use of human patient simulation technology in nursing. Among his many contributions to nursing in Nevada, Tan established programs to deliver mental health and psychiatric services to residents, and he developed a nurse apprentice program with Nathan Adelson Hospice. Tan is also a member of the Nevada State Board of Nursing.

AAN fellows are selected by a committee of current members following a competitive and rigorous process that considers contributions to increase access, reduce cost, and improve quality through nursing theory, practice, and science.

“I am proud to welcome this incredible class of leaders to the American Academy of Nursing," said AAN president Karen Cox. "Their amazing accomplishments have changed health and health care across the country and around the globe.”

Cho and Tan join five AAN fellows currently at UNLV, including dean Angela Amar; professors Catherine Dingley, Rachell Ekroos, and Barbara St. Pierre Schneider; and former dean Carolyn Yucha. Class of 2019 fellows will be formally inducted in October at the AAN’s annual policy conference in Washington, D.C.