Three New Department Chairs Begin Service July 1

Jun. 2, 2015

The Lee Business School welcomed three new department chairs to its ranks July 1.

Stoney Alder, professor of management, is the incoming chair of the Department of Management, Entrepreneurship and Technology. He replaces outgoing chair Alan Miller. Alder teaches human resource management, organizational behavior and introduction to management. He has published widely on employee performance monitoring, organizational justice and performance feedback in journals such as Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes, Human Resource Management Review and The Journal of High Technology Management Research.

Jeff Waddoups, professor of economics and graduate coordinator, is the incoming chair of the Department of Economics. He replaces outgoing chair Mary Riddel. Waddoups teaches courses in labor economics, macroeconomics, health economics and statistics. He has published a number of articles on the impact of trade unions on wages, inequality, and other outcomes in the hospitality and gaming sector.  His recent research on the incidence and determinants of job training in the United States and Australia has appeared in such journals as Industrial & Labor Relations ReviewIndustrial Relations, the British Journal of Industrial Relations, and the Australian Economic Review.  

John Puthenpurackal, professor of finance, is the incoming chair of the Department of Finance. He replaces outgoing chair Paul Thistle. His research and teaching interests include international finance, corporate finance and investments. He has published in the Journal of Financial Intermediation, Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis and Financial Management.

Department chairs are nominated and approved by the faculty in their respective departments. Chairs generally serve for three years before being considered for renewal.