Radiological Studies Initiative Announced

Jul. 25, 2013

As part of the HRC reorganization process and the growing institutional emphasis on interdisciplinary research, a new initiative has been established with the goal of promoting fundamental and applied studies involving radioelements, radioisotopes, radioactive decay, and nuclear and radiation interactions.

The Radiological Studies Initiative will encompass both research and educational activities to develop the next generation of nuclear experts.

The initiative will be a center of excellence, fostering core interdisciplinary research and education collaborations across campus and with outside entities, including other universities, national laboratories, government agencies, international researchers, and industrial partners.

The Radiological Studies Initiative is consistent with the university’s interest in promoting interdisciplinary research through the CoRE initiative. It will integrate activities in engineering, science, health, and policy. It will also strive to provide an educational pipeline and to stimulate economic development by providing a well-trained workforce in all areas involving radiation, radioactive decay, radioisotopes, and nuclear reactions.

Anticipated initial educational and research activities will cover the nuclear fuel cycle and advanced energy systems, nuclear security, nuclear medicine, radiation detection, nuclear reactions, and environmental radiochemistry. One of the early goals of the initiative will be to develop a proposal for presentation to the campus on the formation of an institute.

The interim director of the initiative will be chemistry professor Ken Czerwinski, a leader in radiochemistry research and education. Czerwinski will lead a steering committee that will work with a variety of individuals from different areas, including faculty across multiple colleges, the relevant deans, and external constituents, to form the institute goals and structure.

The Steering Committee members include:

  • Dr. Ken Czerwinski (Chemistry)
  • Dr. Alexander Barzilov (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Dr. Ralf Sudowe (Health Physics)
  • Dr. David Hatchett (Chemistry)
  • Dr. Charlotta Sanders (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Dr. Dennis Pirages (Political Science)
  • Dr. Eric Machorro (National Security Technologies - NSTec)