Faculty Awards and Accomplishments

Mar. 6, 2011


Alona Angosta (lecturer) earned a doctor of philosophy in nursing from the University of Hawaii at Manoa in December. Her dissertation focused on coronary heart disease knowledge and risk factors among Filipino-Americans connected to primary care services.

Mary Bondmass (associate professor) and Susan Kowalski (associate professor) earned an intramural research grant from the School of Nursing to study “Critical Thinking and NCLEX-RN Pass Rates.”

Marcia Clevesy (lecturer) was asked to participate in a special emphasis panel of The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention Health Promotion. Part of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the panel will review research proposals for state-specific monitoring programs related to pregnancy risk.

Alan Jauregui (lecturer) was selected as an NCLEX-RN item writer by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. Item writers create the questions administered in NCLEX examinations, the tests nurses must pass to obtain licensure to practice.

Barbara St. Pierre Schneider (associate dean for research) was inducted into the Western Academy of Nurses, which recognizes nurses who have demonstrated excellence in nursing practice and who have advanced nursing in direct care, education, or research.

Tish Smyer (associate dean for academics) was recently appointed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing to its Nursing Education Committee.

Susan VanBeuge (assistant professor) was named co-principal investigator on a Nevada Geriatric Education Center Consortium grant to develop training in the areas of falls, Type 2 diabetes and co-morbidities, health literacy and general geriatric care. The total award is $385,000 over five years. VanBeuge was also named program director of Tobacco Free UNLV, an education and outreach initiative funded by the Southern Nevada Health District. She was also appointed to serve a two-year term on the Primary Care Advisory Council for the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Nevada State Health Division. 

Carolyn Yucha (dean) earned the Ruth Corcoran Research Grant from the National League of Nursing for “Methodological Quality and Impact of Nursing Education Research.” Co-investigators on the $13,656 grant include Barbara St. Pierre Schneider, Tish Smyer and Susan Kowalski from the School of Nursing. Yucha was also appointed to the Summerlin Hospital Medical Center Board of Governors.

Yu (Philip) Xu (professor) was recently named a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, one of the profession’s highest honors. Xu is also a co-investigator on a $299,721 National Council of State Boards of Nursing grant to compare medication errors in internationally and American educated nurses.