Congratulations to the 2019-20 Graduate College Award Winners!

Apr. 30, 2020


The Graduate College is pleased to announce its 2019-2020 award winners. 

UNLV Graduate College Outstanding Thesis & Dissertation Awards
Each year the Graduate College awards four awards for outstanding theses and dissertations (within each category, one for STEM and one for non-STEM). This year’s winners are listed below:

Outstanding Thesis (STEM): Rachel Rahib, Master of Science, Geoscience
"Petrogenesis of Enriched and Intermediate Poikilitic Shergottites: From Magmatic Source to Emplacement"

Outstanding Thesis (Non-STEM): Frank Johnson, Master of Fine Arts, Poetry, Creative Writing
“Literal Dope”

Outstanding Dissertation (STEM): Joshua Sackett, Doctor of Philosophy, Life Sciences
“Prokaryotic Diversity and Aqueous Geochemistry of Subsurface Environments of the Death Valley Regional Flow System”

Outstanding Dissertation (Non-STEM): Sarah McCarthy, Doctor of Philosophy, Early Childhood, Multilingual, and Special Education
“Exploring Mathematics Anxiety of Students At-Risk for Mathematics Difficulties"

Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award
Each year the Graduate College awards three awards for exceptional teaching by UNLV graduate students. This year’s winners are listed below:

1st Place - Weerakonda De Silva (College of Sciences)
2nd Place - Mark Toussaint (College of Liberal Arts)
3rd Place - Elena Bejinariu (College of Urban Affairs)

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Leadership Award
The Outstanding Graduate Faculty Leadership Award recognizes graduate faculty who demonstrate leadership by, for example, serving on committees; mentoring graduate students; and engaging in, leading, or significantly advancing efforts that help move the university toward impactful graduate education, research, scholarship, or creative activity. This year’s winner is Dr. Pramen P. Shrestha (Engineering).

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentorship Award
The Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentorship award is being given to Dr. Jacimaria Batista (Engineering). This award recognizes graduate faculty who mentor graduate students in teaching, research and service; provide sound counsel and advocacy on academic and non-academic issues; and guide students toward the successful completion of degrees.