College of Sciences 2014 Faculty Opportunity Awards

Chemistry professor Paul Forster was the recipient of an Individual Investigator Award
Microbiologist Penny Amy was the recipient of an Innovation Technology Award.
May. 19, 2014

College of Sciences faculty were recently named recipients of the 2014 Faculty Opportunity Awards, totaling more than $122,000.

The Faculty Opportunity Awards, which were created in 2012, were designed to support faculty research with potential for continued external funding and to provide financial support needed to complete significant scholarly/creative works.

This year, a total of 44 proposals were submitted to this highly competitive awards program in two categories: Innovation Technology Award and Individual Investigator Award. Faculty-led review panels made recommendations to the Vice President for Research and Economic Development, the Associate Vice President for Research, and the Chair of the Research Council.  A total of 23 awards will be funded: Five are Innovation Technology Awards, and 18 are Individual Investigator Awards. Below is a list of the College of Sciences recipients.


Innovation Technology Awards
Ernesto Abel-Santos, Department of Chemistry ($19,742)
"Prevention of Necrotic Enteritis in Broiler Chickens by Benzothiazoles"

Penny Amy, School of Life Sciences ($22,830)
"Application of Phage Therapy to the Treatment of American Foulbrood Disease"

Individual Investigator Awards
Paul Forster, Department of Chemistry, ($20,000)
"New and Stable Waste Forms for Radioisotopes from Earth Abundant Materials"

Mira Han, School of Life Sciences, ($20,000)
"Association Study on Transposable Element Silencing in Human Somatic Cells"

Brian Hedlund, School of Life Sciences, ($20,000)
"Probing Relationships between Clostridium Difficile Infection (CDI), CDI Prophylactics, and the Intestinal Microbiome"

Ganqing Jiang, Department of Geoscience, ($20,000)
"Seawater Temperature Change across the Early Mississippian Greenhouse-Icehouse Transition"