College of Engineering Wins Big in the UNLV Faculty Opportunity Awards

May. 14, 2013

The 2013 Faculty Opportunity Awards were announced yesterday, including five recipients from the College of Engineering. Out of 46 submitted proposals, a total of 18 awards were chosen for funding in two categories. The Single Investigator awards recognize individuals who are developing innovative research areas and will collaborate with well-established investigators who will serve as mentors. The Innovation/Technology Development awards honor a sole investigator or team whose research will develop new intellectual property for the investigators and the university.  

The College of Engineering took home three awards in Innovation/Technology Development:

  • Professor Yingtao Jiang, Electrical and Computer Engineering – “A New Multiple Access Scheme Based on the Signal Amplitudes”
  • Professor Juyeon Jo, Computer Science – “Revolutionizing the Authentication Paradigm with an Indirect User ID Mechanism”
  • Professor Woosoon Yim, Mechanical Engineering – “Technology Development of a Robotic Catheter System”

Two of the college’s faculty received Single Investigator awards:

  • Professor Daniel Gerrity, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction – “Occurrence, Proliferation, and Persistence of Antibiotic Resistance During Wastewater Treatment”
  • Professor Hui Zhao, Mechanical Engineering – “Super-hydrophobic Surface Enabled Microfluidic Energy Conversion”

A highly competitive program, the Faculty Opportunity Awards were created in 2012 to provide support for development of research areas with potential for continued funding by extramural funding agencies, private foundations, or industry; or to provide financial support needed to complete significant scholarly/creative works. Each winner from the College of Engineering will receive $24,000 to $25,000 in funding for their research.

Congratulations to all!