2013 College of Sciences Faculty Opportunity Awards

Mathematics professor Amei Amei was the recipient of a Single Investigator Award.
Chemistry professor Hui Zhang was the recipient of a Innovation Technology Award.
May. 16, 2013

College of Sciences faculty were recently named recipients of the 2013 Faculty Opportunity Awards, totaling approximately $114,000.

The Faculty Opportunity Awards were created in 2012 to provide support for development of research areas with potential for continued funding by extramural funding agencies, private foundations, or industry, or to provide financial support needed to complete significant scholarly/creative works.

A total of 46 proposals were submitted to this highly competitive awards program in two categories: Innovation Technology Award and Single Investigator Award. Faculty led review panels made recommendations to the Vice President for Research and the Chair of the Research Council. A total of 18 awards will be funded: 5 are Innovation Technology Awards and 13 are Single Investigator. Below is a list of the College of Sciences recipients.

Innovation Technology Awards
Martin Schiller, School of Life Sciences ($25,000)
"System Minimotif Inhibitor Functional Screening Technology"

Hui Zhang, Department of Chemistry ($25,000)
"Development of Novel Chemical Inhibitors Targeting Epigenetic Regulation of Cancer/Cancer Stem Cells"

Single Investigator Awards
Amei Amei, Department of Mathematical Sciences ($14,000)
"Time-Dependent Random Effects Poisson Random Field Model for Cancer Gene Detection"

Pengtao Sun, Department of Mathematical Sciences ($24,460)
"Modeling and Numerical Studies for a Two-phase Transport Model of Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cells"

Ai-Sun (Kelly) Tseng, School of Life Sciences ($25,000)
"Using Antibiotics to Modulate Vertebrate Organ Regeneration"

Full list of 2013 Faculty Opportunity Award recipients.