Group of graduate students stand before a Graduate College banner.

Student Calendar

Deadlines

Event Title Date Time Location
Last Day to Submit Application for the Grad Rebel Writing Boot Camp Winter Session Friday, November 9, 2018 (All day)
Room 352
Last day to defend Saturday, November 17, 2018 (All day)
Last Day to submit for final format review Monday, November 26, 2018 (All day)
Last day to submit the culminating experience results Thursday, December 6, 2018 (All day)
Last Day to submit format revisions Thursday, December 6, 2018 (All day)
Last Day for electronic submissions to ProQuest Monday, December 10, 2018 (All day)
Last Day to Submit Application for the Graduate College Medallion Program (Graduation Date: Spring 2019) Tuesday, February 5, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Last Day for Graduate Students to Submit Applications to the Rebel Research and Mentorship Program Monday, February 25, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Final day to apply & submit application for graduation Friday, March 1, 2019 (All day)
Last Day to Submit Applications for Graduate College Academic Support Certifications Monday, April 8, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Last Day to Submit Applications to the Graduate Rebel Ambassadors Program Monday, April 8, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Last Day for Undergraduate Students to Submit Applications to the Rebel Research and Mentorship Program Monday, April 8, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Last Day for Undergraduate Students to Submit Applications to the Grad Rebel Advantage Program Monday, April 8, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Last Day to Submit Applications to the Post-Master's Career Pathways Program Monday, April 8, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Last day to defend Monday, April 15, 2019 (All day)
Last Day to Submit for Final Format Review Monday, April 22, 2019 (All day)
Last day to submit the culminating experience results Monday, May 6, 2019 (All day)
Last day to submit format revisions Monday, May 6, 2019 (All day)
Last day for electronic submissions to ProQuest Monday, May 13, 2019 (All day)
Final day to apply & submit application for graduation Saturday, June 1, 2019 (All day)
Last Day to Submit Application for the Graduate College Medallion Program (Graduation Date: Summer 2019) Thursday, June 27, 2019 (All day)
Room 352
Last day to defend Tuesday, July 23, 2019 (All day)
Last day to submit final format review Tuesday, July 30, 2019 (All day)
Last day to submit culminating experience results Saturday, August 10, 2019 (All day)
Last day to submit format revisions Saturday, August 10, 2019 (All day)
Last day to electronically submit to ProQuest Friday, August 16, 2019 (All day)

Workshops

Event Title Date Time Location
Workshop: Navigating the UNLV Graduate College Thesis and Dissertation Formatting Process I: “All You Need to Know” Monday, October 22, 2018 3:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Text analysis with Voyant Tuesday, October 23, 2018 10:00am
Eureka Room
Joining the Scholarly Conversation: Your Future as Researchers Wednesday, October 24, 2018 1:00pm
Pioche Classroom (1st floor)
Workshop: Introduction to Tableau Thursday, October 25, 2018 10:00am
Eureka Room
Workshop: Navigating the UNLV Graduate College Thesis and Dissertation Formatting Process II: “Getting the Details Right in Microsoft Word & Creating the Perfect PDF” Thursday, October 25, 2018 12:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Pursuing Careers in Academia: From Beginning a Ph.D. Program, to Accepting a Postdoctoral Scholar Position, to Becoming a Faculty Member Thursday, October 25, 2018 2:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Strategies for Research in Special Collections Thursday, October 25, 2018 3:00pm
Special Collections Reading Room
Workshop: Evaluating New Journals For Publication Tuesday, October 30, 2018 10:00am
Eureka Room
Communicating Effectively with your Mentor/Advisor Workshop Wednesday, October 31, 2018 1:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Reference Etiquette and Writing Letters of Recommendation Thursday, November 1, 2018 1:00pm
Graduate Commons (Room 2141)
Grad Workshop: Avoiding Plagiarism, Advanced Paraphrase Friday, November 2, 2018 10:00am
Room 211
Workshop: GPSA Sponsorship Friday, November 2, 2018 1:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Advantage Workshop: Social Media Monday, November 5, 2018 11:00am
Room 208 A
Dealing with Challenging Students in the Classroom Monday, November 5, 2018 1:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Visualizing Data Tuesday, November 6, 2018 10:00am
Eureka Room
Workshop: Sexual Harassment & Prevention Tuesday, November 6, 2018 12:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Transitioning from Graduate School to Industry Wednesday, November 7, 2018 2:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Storytelling with Maps Thursday, November 8, 2018 10:00am
Rhyolite Room
Mentorship: Finding a Mentor and Being a Good Mentee Thursday, November 8, 2018 4:00pm
Room 112
Workshop: Mentoring Ethics Tuesday, November 13, 2018 10:00am
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Developing an Effective Online Profile, Starting with LinkedIn Tuesday, November 13, 2018 3:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: ResearchGate, Authors' Rights, and You Wednesday, November 14, 2018 10:00am
Pioche Room
Workshop: Creating Your Professional Website Wednesday, November 14, 2018 2:00pm
Rhyolite Room
Constructing a Strong Syllabus Workshop Thursday, November 15, 2018 10:00am
Graduate Commons (2141)
Workshop: Self-Care Thursday, November 15, 2018 1:00pm
Graduate Commons (2141)
Grad Workshop: Editing & Proofreading Long Documents Friday, November 16, 2018 10:00am
Room 211
Grad Rebel: Teaching Your Online Course Friday, November 16, 2018 11:00am
Graduate Commons, Second Floor, Room 2141
Choosing and Being Chosen: How to Select a Graduate Program & Get Them to Select You Friday, November 30, 2018 3:30pm
Room 208B
Standardized Tests: Strategies For Success Monday, December 3, 2018 12:00pm
Room 208A
Grad Rebel Advantage Commencement Event Friday, May 3, 2019 9:00am
Grand Hall

Events

Event Title Date Time Location
Red Rebel 5k Color Run Sunday, October 21, 2018 8:30am
Pizza with the Graduate College RPC Coordinators Monday, October 22, 2018 4:00pm
GPSA Graduate Commons, 2nd floor
Using Global Goals to Drive Progress in Mountain West Wednesday, October 24, 2018 6:00pm
First Floor Auditorium
Rebel Grad Slam: 3-Minute Thesis Competition - Preliminary Rounds Monday, October 29, 2018 (All day)
See below for competition locations
Rebel Grad Slam: 3-Minute Thesis Competition: Semi-Finals Rounds Thursday, November 1, 2018 (All day)
Marjorie Barrick Museum
Rebel Grad Slam Finals and Reception Friday, November 2, 2018 4:00pm
Auditorium and lobby
GPSA Council Meetings Monday, November 5, 2018 2:00pm
Room 208 A, B, and C
Coffee and Donuts with the Graduate College Dean Wednesday, November 7, 2018 9:00am
Room 312
GPSA Council Meetings Monday, December 3, 2018 2:00pm
Room 208 A, B, and C
Doctoral Recognition Ceremony Monday, December 17, 2018 1:00pm
Ballroom
New Graduate Student Orientation Friday, January 18, 2019 (All day)
Various locations on campus
GPSA Council Meetings Monday, February 4, 2019 2:00pm
Room 208 A, B, and C
6th Annual Inspiration, Innovation, Impact: A Celebration of Graduate Student Research Friday, February 22, 2019 4:00pm
Ballroom
GPSA Council Meetings Monday, March 4, 2019 2:00pm
Room 208 A, B, and C
GPSA Council Meetings Monday, April 1, 2019 2:00pm
Room 208 A, B, and C
Blood Drive - UNLV Graduate College and Phi Kappa Phi Tuesday, April 2, 2019 11:00am
Rebel Research & Mentorship Program Celebration Friday, May 3, 2019 12:00pm
Room 205
GPSA Council Meetings Monday, May 6, 2019 2:00pm
Room 208 A, B, and C
Spring Doctoral Recognition Ceremony Thursday, May 9, 2019 1:00pm
Ballroom