Junior Recital and UNLV Guitar Octet Perform Bach, Duarte, Satie, and Others


Dec. 5, 2022, 5:30pm to 6pm

Office/Remote Location

Room 159


Guitarist Mingfeng Qiu's junior recital will contain both solo and ensemble pieces, and all of our instruments will be guitar. The recital will begin with a famous Bach piece: "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring," followed by "Maria Luisa" by Sagreras, then the entire English Suite by John W. Duarte. The ensemble will enter with "Air" by Bach to start, followed by Ukraine national anthem: "Ukraine Shall Not Perish." Then the audience will hear another world famous piece: "Gymnopedie Number 1" by Erik Satie. The ensemble then will perform "Merry Go Round of Life from Howl's Moving Castle," written by Joe Hisaishi, rearranged for guitar by Mingfeng Qiu. Then the ensemble will exit, with soloist Mingfeng Qiu finishing the recital with "Farewell," written by Sergio Assad.

Performers are:

  • Soloist Mingfeng Qiu
  • UNLV Guitar Octet: Enmanuel Rodriguez, Alejandro Arias, Esteban Salas, Edgar Lucio-Flores, Tristan Bates, Tiffany Huang, Victor Liang, and Mingfeng Qiu

Admission Information

This event is free and open to the public.

Contact Information

UNLV School of Music

External Sponsor

UNLV School of Music