Breakout Writers Series: Cherie Jones

When

Sep. 29, 2021, 7pm to 8:30pm

Office/Remote Location

Virtual
Book Cover

Description

Join Cherie Jones and writer Soni Brown as they explore race, class, and the mythology that keeps us going.

Cherie Jones sets her debut novel, How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House, in Baxter Beach, Barbados–a fictional sliver of paradise. In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, Jones shines a light on often-invisible essential workers who make this place run, beyond the white sand beaches and the wealthy tourists. Join Jones and writer Soni Brown as they explore race, class, and the mythology of their home in the West Indies.

Price

Free and open to the public

Contact Information

UNLV Black Mountain Institute
Lille Allen