Alexandrea Washington Poster

Alexandrea Washington won first place in the college's Spring 2021 Graduate Celebration research poster competition.

Apr. 9, 2021


Every semester the Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering celebrates our engineering and computer science graduate students by offering an opportunity for them to present their research to fellow students, faculty and a panel of external industry judges.

The College is proud to present this semester’s winners out of a field of approximately 25 entries!

Thank you to our Spring 2021 judges:

  • Amy Lewis, Detectors and Instruments Project Manager, Nevada National Security Site
  • Dr. Krishnan Chittur, Chief Technical Officer, Genecapture
  • Robert Buckles, Principal Scientist, National Nuclear Security Site

Congratulations to our winners and all of the Graduate Celebration participants!

1st Place

Alexandrea Washington  
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Title: Hybrid Robotic Snake Platform using Electroactive Polymer (EAP) Actuators
Advisor: Dr. Kwang Kim
Washington was also recently selected for a competitive three-year NASA fellowship. Read more about Washington.

2nd Place

Binita Shrestha  
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Construction 
Title: Mapping The Impervious Surface Area of Lahore City Using Fusion Of Sentinel-1 and Sentinel-2 Data
Advisors: Dr. Sajjad Ahmad  and  Dr. Haroon Stephen

3rd Place

Valerie Lawdensky  
Department of Mechanical Engineering 
Title: Computational Analysis of Biomodal Nuclear Thermal Propulsion Rocket (NTPR)
Advisor: Dr. William Culbreth

4th Place

Godson Ebenezer Adjovu  
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Construction 
Title: Analysis of Suspended Material in Lake Mead using Remote Sensing Indices
Advisors: Dr. Sajjad Ahmad, Dr. Haroon Stephen

5th Place

Sai C. Kosaraju  
Department of Computer Science 
Title: Interpretable deep learning model to integrate genomic profiles and histopathological images for cancer survival prediction 
Advisor: Mingon Kang

Honorable Mentions

Ariful Hasnat, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Construction
Title: Non-Proprietary Ultra-High-Performance Concrete for Ballast Track High-Speed Railroad Sleepers
Advisor: Dr. Nader Ghafoori

Brandon Ortiz 
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Title: Dynamic Water-Surfactant Bubble Characteristics
Advisor: Dr. Jeremy Cho

Suraj Venkat Pochampally  
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Title: A Study on Modified Biochars for the Removal of Trichloroethylene (TCE) 
Advisors: Dr. Erica Marti, Dr. Jaeyun Moon